November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Bryn Lutek |
Vibraphone

Bryn Lutek

Bryn Lutek is a versatile Canadian percussionist who is quickly establishing himself in both contemporary and orchestral idioms. In the spring of 2020, after completing his Master's degree at the University of Toronto in the studios of Aiyun Huang and Charles Settle, Bryn was named Principal Percussionist of L'Orchestre Symphonique de Quebéc. As an orchestral percussionist he has also performed with the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and L’Orchestre Métropolitain.

Bryn is passionate about collaborating with his peers to extend the percussion and chamber music repertoire; to that end he has recently given world premieres of two works for percussion trio and electronics - entasi iii by Joshua Biggs, and Layers by Hunter Brown - alongside fellow percussionists Louis Pino and Tyler Cunningham. Bryn has also given premieres of music by Kotoka Suzuki, Stephanie Orlando, Amy Thompson, and Ania Vu, and he is currently working with Louis Pino on a new piece for snare drum, interactive electronics, and video.

As a researcher Bryn was awarded a Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada Graduate Scholarship in 2019 and his work has been accepted to the TENOR International Conference on Technologies for Music Notation & Representation; his research interests centre around the history and aesthetics of electronic music and media.

Prior to attending the University of Toronto, Bryn received his Artist Diploma from the Glenn Gould School of the Royal Conservatory of Music Toronto and his Bachelor’s Degree from McGill University.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 8 avril 2021.
Bryn Lutek |
vibraphone

Bryn Lutek

Bryn Lutek est un percussionniste canadien des plus polyvalents qui prend sa place dans le monde de la musique actuelle et symphonique. Il a été nommé percussionniste solo de l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec au printemps 2020, après avoir terminé une maîtrise à l’Université de Toronto auprès d’Aiyun Huang et Charles Settle. Il s’est produit à titre de percussionniste symphonique avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto et l’Orchestre Métropolitain.

Lutek collabore passionnément avec ses collègues afin de développer le répertoire pour percussions et orchestre de chambre; il a d’ailleurs récemment œuvré à la création mondiale de deux œuvres pour trio de percussions et instruments électroniques – entasi iii de Joshua Biggs et Layers de Hunter Brown – en compagnie des percussionnistes Louis Pino et Tyler Cunningham. Lutek a également créé des œuvres de Kotoka Suzuki, Stephanie Orlando, Amy Thompson et Ania Vu. Il collabore actuellement avec Louis Pino à une nouvelle œuvre pour caisse claire, instruments électroniques interactifs et composantes vidéo.

Lutek a obtenu une bourse d’études supérieures du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada en 2019. Il a présenté ses travaux au colloque international sur les technologies de notation et de représentation musicales TENOR; ses recherches portent sur l’histoire et l’esthétique de la musique électronique et des médias.

Avant d’étudier à l’Université de Toronto, Bryn Lutek a obtenu un diplôme d’artiste de l’École Glenn-Gould (Conservatoire royal de musique de Toronto) et un baccalauréat de l’Université McGill.

Menu