January 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Black Theatre Workshop |

Black Theatre Workshop

Montreal · Quebec

Founded in 1972, Black Theatre Workshop is the oldest Black theatre company in Canada. 

The mission of Black Theatre Workshop is to encourage and promote the development of Black and Canadian Theatre, rooted in literature that reflects the creative will of Black Canadian writers and artists, and the creative collaborations between Black and other artists. Black Theatre Workshop aims to promote and produce Black theatre that educates, entertains and delights its audiences. The company strives to create a greater cross-cultural understanding by its presence and the intrinsic value of its work.   

The artistic policy is to prioritize plays by Afri-Canadian playwrights in our programming, however plays are selected primarily on the basis of their artistic merit and their relevance to Black society and culture. This addresses the growing need among the multitude of Black communities in Canada to see themselves reflected in the stories they watch and to further answer the need for general audiences to better understand and participate in the many varied aspects of Black culture. 

The simple truth is that we offer plays and performances that audiences are unlikely to have an opportunity to see on any other Montreal stages. Every season, we program two mainstage productions, one tour to local schools during Black History Month and one play reading: our Discovery Series. Recent co-presentations have included partnerships with local companies such as Théâtre Espace Libre, Playwrights’ Workshop Montreal, and the Segal Centre. We also collaborate with other companies on full productions, most recently with Tableau D’Hôte Theatre and Centaur Theatre in Montreal and with Neptune Theatre in Halifax. 

BTW is committed to the development of emerging Black and other theatre professionals, and to providing opportunities to developing writers and artists through all our projects. Seven years ago, we instituted our Artist Mentorship Program (AMP), which annually accepts 12-15 emerging artists and, over the course of the season, helps them make the transition from theatre student to theatre professional. The program culminates with our annual Industry Showcase, which has become a much-anticipated event for local engagers to discover new and emerging talent from under-represented communities.   

For almost 35 years, we have taken great pride in bringing Montreal our prestigious Vision Celebration Gala. An official launching pad for Montreal’s Black History Month celebrations, the annual event serves to pay homage to an outstanding Black Canadian who has made significant contributions to the development of the arts in Canada with the presentation of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Achievement Award. Past recipients of the award include Oscar Peterson, Ranee Lee, Djanet Sears, Walter Borden, Gregory Charles, Dany Laferrière, Oliver Jones and many others. We also present a community service award, and two youth awards to emerging Black artists for excellence in the performing arts. 

At the heart of our work is the desire to be a voice for Black art and culture. Theatre is powerful, and we believe that theatre can be used as a tool for social change. The exchange of culture and stories, springing from a diversity of historical and societal perspectives, goes beyond artistic and aesthetic merit; it is also an inherently political act. When we challenge the status quo, when we push the limits of theatre practice, when we explore new ways of doing the “traditional”, when we expose the community to new practices and ideas and cultures and aesthetics, when we make people think of themselves in different ways – when we do all these things we are not just entertaining our audience, we are helping to transform our society.

Menu

Black Theatre Workshop |

Black Theatre Workshop

Montréal · Québec

Notre compagnie, le Black Theatre Worshop (BTW), a été fondée en 1972 et est la plus ancienne compagnie de théâtre noir au Canada. Nous avons pour mission de promouvoir et de soutenir le développement du théâtre noir et canadien en nous appuyant sur des œuvres qui reflètent le talent créateur des artistes et écrivains noirs canadiens ainsi que sur des collaborations entre des artistes noirs et d’autres artistes. Nous visons à produire et faire connaître un théâtre noir qui informe, divertit et enchante les auditoires. Nous favorisons la compréhension interculturelle de par notre présence dans le panorama théâtral canadien et la valeur intrinsèque de ce nous proposons.

Nous privilégions les pièces de dramaturges afro-canadiens dans notre programmation, mais faisons nos choix en fonction de la valeur artistique des œuvres et de leur pertinence pour la société et la culture noires. Nous répondons ainsi au besoin des nombreuses communautés noires du Canada de se voir représentées sur scène, mais aussi à celui du grand public de mieux comprendre les différents aspects de la culture noire et d’y participer.

Nous présentons tout simplement des pièces et des spectacles que le public a vraisemblablement peu d’occasions de voir sur d’autres scènes montréalaises. Chaque saison, nous mettons au programme deux productions principales; une production qui tourne dans les écoles de la région durant le Mois de l’histoire des noirs; et une mise en lecture d’une pièce (série Découverte). Nous avons récemment collaboré avec le Théâtre Espace Libre, le Paywright’s Workshop Montreal et le Centre Segal dans le cadre de coprésentations locales ainsi qu’avec le Tableau D'Hôte Theatre (Montréal), le Centaur Theatre (Montréal) et le Nepture Theatre (Halifax) pour des productions intégrales.

Nous sommes engagés à soutenir le développement de professionnels du théâtre émergents, noirs ou non, et à offrir des occasions aux écrivains et aux artistes en devenir dans tous nos projets.  Nous avons ainsi lancé un programme de mentorat artistique il y a sept ans, dans le cadre duquel nous accueillons annuellement de 12 à 15 artistes émergents, qui au cours d’une saison, passent d’étudiants en théâtre à professionnels de la discipline. Le programme se conclut sur un spectacle annuel pour l’industrie, devenu un incontournable pour ceux qui sont à la recherche de jeunes talents des communautés sous-représentées.

Depuis près de 35 ans, nous présentons avec fierté le prestigieux gala Vision à Montréal. Donnant le coup d’envoi aux festivités entourant le Mois de l’histoire des Noirs dans la métropole, cet événement annuel rend hommage à d’exceptionnels Canadiens noirs dont les réalisations majeures ont contribué à la floraison des arts au Canada. On y remet le prix de la réalisation Dr Martin Luther King fils.  Oscar Peterson, Ranee Lee, Djanet Sears, Walter Borden, Gregory Charles, Dany Laferrière et Oliver Jones figurent parmi les lauréats. Nous y remettons également un prix pour l’engagement communautaire ainsi que deux prix jeunesse à des artistes noirs émergents qui se démarquent dans les arts du spectacle.

Le désir de donner une voix à la culture et à l’art noirs est au cœur de notre mission. Le théâtre est puissant, et nous croyons qu’il peut être mis au service de l’évolution sociale. Les échanges culturels et narratifs, nés d’une variété de perspectives historiques et sociales, dépassent leur valeur artistique ou esthétique; ce sont des actes politiques en eux-mêmes. Lorsque nous remettons en question le statu quo; lorsque nous repoussons les limites des pratiques théâtrales; lorsque nous réinventons la tradition; lorsque nous exposons la communauté à de nouvelles pratiques, idées, cultures ou esthétiques; lorsque nous poussons les gens à revoir la manière dont ils se perçoivent; lorsque nous faisons tout cela, nous faisons bien plus qu’offrir un divertissement à notre public : nous contribuons à transformer la société.

Menu