November 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Barbara Pentland |
Canadian Composer

Barbara Pentland

(1912-2000)

Barbara Lally Pentland was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, in 1912.  She began to study piano at age nine. Three years later she expressed a desire to become a professional composer, even though only a handful of composers were writing in Canada at that time and none of them were women.

Her parents hoped that she would focus on performance rather than composition, which they considered to be an inappropriate career choice for a woman.

Pentland was accepted at the Juilliard Graduate School in New York City in 1936 on full fellowship. She was exposed to many styles of music during her time in New York City.

In the early 1940s, Pentland taught theory and composition at the Royal Conservatory of Music in Toronto and attended the Tanglewood Music Center where she studied with Aaron Copland and Paul Hindemith. In 1949 Pentland became a faculty member in the music department at the University of British Columbia.

The famed Canadian pianist Glenn Gould recorded her work Ombres (1964) — yet it was omitted from the album when it was released. The recording finally appeared on Sony’s re-release of the album 25 years later. The exclusion is symbolic of the composer’s ostracization that occurred throughout most of her career as she struggled to gain professional recognition. She found particular difficulty as a ‘woman’ composer writing contemporary music.

Toward the end of her career, Pentland finally received recognition and significant accolades. She became first composer to receive the Order of British Columbia, she was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada, became an Honorary Member of the Canadian Music Centre, and received honorary Doctorates from Winnipeg’s University of Manitoba, and Vancouver’s Simon Fraser University.  In celebration of her 75th birthday the city of Vancouver announced “Barbara Pentland Day”.

© 2015-2018 Dr. Réa Beaumont

Menu

EN DIRECT : Calgary Folk Music Festival avec The Halluci Nation
Barbara Pentland |
Compositrice canadienne

Barbara Pentland

(1912–2000)

Barbara Lally Pentland naquit à Winnipeg (Man.) en 1912. Elle commença à étudier le piano à 3 ans, et manifesta le désir de devenir compositrice trois ans plus tard, en dépit du fait qu’il n’y avait alors qu’une poignée de compositeurs au Canada et qu’aucun d’entre eux n’était de sexe féminin.

Les parents de Pentland souhaitaient qu’elle se consacre à l’interprétation plutôt qu’à la composition, qu’ils considéraient comme un choix de carrière inapproprié pour une femme.

Pentland obtint néanmoins une bourse d’études supérieures de l’École Juilliard en 1936. Elle put se familiariser avec une variété de styles musicaux pendant son séjour à New York.

Au début des années 1940, Pentland enseignait la théorie et la composition musicales au Conservatoire royal de musique de Toronto tout en poursuivant ses études auprès d’Aaron Copland et Paul Hindemith au Centre de musique Tanglewood. Elle se joignit au corps professoral du département de musique de l’Université de Colombie-Britannique en 1949.

Le célèbre pianiste canadien Glenn Gould enregistra sa pièce Ombres (1964) en vue d’un album, mais elle en fut toutefois écartée. Sony publia finalement l’enregistrement original 25 ans plus tard à l’occasion de la réédition de cet album. Cette exclusion est le reflet de l’ostracisme dont Pentland fut victime tout au long de sa carrière, malgré ses efforts pour être reconnue comme compositrice professionnelle. Il était difficile pour elle de prendre sa place à titre de compositrice de musique actuelle.

Pentland reçut la reconnaissance qu’elle méritait vers la fin de sa carrière : première compositrice à rejoindre les rangs de l’Ordre de la Colombie-Britannique, elle fut nommée membre de l’Ordre du Canada et membre honoraire du Centre de musique canadienne. L’Université du Manitoba (Winnipeg) et l’Université Simon-Fraser (Vancouver) lui offrirent chacune un doctorat honorifique. La Ville de Vancouver fit du 75e anniversaire de la compositrice la « Journée Barbara Pentland ».

© 2015-2018 Réa Beaumont, Ph. D.

Menu