|

Arlene Shiplett

Saskatoon · Saskatchewan · Canada

Arlene Shiplett is a Saskatchewan-based French horn player and teacher, originally from North Battleford and now living in Saskatoon.

She has taught horn and band in the Saskatoon area for over 20 years and has created an active local horn community. She conducts the Saskatoon Horn Choir and the Saskatoon Junior Horn Choir. The Saskatoon Horn choir was created in 2002 for her university students and it grew to include members of all the adult bands and orchestras in Saskatoon. Arlene’s current horn studio has over 35 students, both young people and adults. Many of her private students have gone on to study Music at the post-secondary level, or have continued to play for fun once they finish high school.

Arlene is also in demand as a horn clinician for provincial honour bands and school sectionals.  She has presented workshops at various Saskatchewan Music conferences and published articles for the Saskatchewan Band Association.

Arlene has received the Dwaine Nelson Teaching award for excellence in Applied Instruction in the University of Saskatchewan’s Department of Music, a Distinguished Service Award at the International Music Camp, and a YWCA Woman of Distinction Award.

As with all musicians, Arlene has many employers to keep her busy, including the University of Saskatchewan (Horn Instructor), the Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra (Second Horn), the National Arts Centre (Music Alive Program), the Saskatoon Youth Orchestra (Brass Coach), the International Music Camp (Horn Instructor and member of International Brass Quintet), and Musicraft Instrument Repair.

Arlene performs regularly with the Gala Trio and the Prairie Winds Woodwind Quintet, and she is the Calliope Player for the Western Development Museum, which owns Canada’s only operational Steam Calliope.

Arlene is married to Lee Springett.  They have one spoiled cat, 8 horns, and a very cherished vintage Corvette.

Music Alive Program Options:

  • Classical Composers (Possible Composers: Vivaldi, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert, or R. Murray Schafer)
  • Cross-Cultural Experiences (Possible Themes: Music & Nature, Family & Friends, or Listening & Creativity)
Menu

|

Arlene Shiplett

Saskatoon · Saskatchewan · Canada

Née à North Battleford et vivant aujourd’hui à Saskatoon, en Saskatchewan, Arlene Shiplett est à la fois corniste et professeur de cor d’harmonie.

Arlene enseigne le cor et dirige des harmonies depuis plus de 20 ans dans la région de Saskatoon, où elle a par ailleurs établi une communauté active de cornistes. Elle dirige l’ensemble de cors junior de Saskatoon ainsi que l’ensemble de cors de Saskatoon. Celui-ci, créé en 2002 pour ses étudiants d’université, s’est agrandi pour inclure des membres de tous les ensembles et orchestres d’adultes de Saskatoon. Le studio d’Arlene compte actuellement plus de 35 élèves de cor de tous âges. Bon nombre des jeunes à qui elle a donné des leçons particulières ont continué d’étudier la musique au niveau postsecondaire ou de jouer pour le plaisir après leurs études secondaires.

Arlene est souvent invitée à donner des ateliers de cor à des harmonies provinciales d’élite et à des sections d’harmonies scolaires. Elle a animé plusieurs ateliers à la Saskatchewan Music Conference et publié des articles pour la Saskatchewan Band Association.

Elle a remporté le prix d’excellence Dwaine Nelson en enseignement appliqué du Département de musique de l’Université de la Saskatchewan, le prix de reconnaissance pour services éminents de l’International Music Camp et le prix Femmes de mérite du YWCA.

À l’instar de tout musicien, Arlene a de nombreux employeurs, notamment l’Université de la Saskatchewan (professeur de cor), l’Orchestre symphonique de Saskatoon (deuxième cor), le Centre national des Arts (programme Vive la musique), l’Orchestre des jeunes de Saskatoon (professeur de cuivres), l’International Music Camp (professeur de cor et membre du quintette de cuivres de l’IMC) et Musicraft Instrument Repair.

Arlene se produit régulièrement avec le Gala Trio et le quintette de bois Prairie Winds, et elle est la personne attitrée pour jouer de l’orgue à vapeur au Musée du développement de l’Ouest, propriétaire du seul de ces instruments à être encore fonctionnel au Canada.

Arlene est l’épouse de Lee Springett. Ils ont un chat ultragâté, 8 cors et une Corvette ancienne qui leur est très chère.

Options programme Vive la musique:

  • Compositeurs classiques (compositeurs possibles : Vivaldi, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert ou R. Murray Schafer)
  • Expérience interculturelle (thèmes possibles : Musique et nature, Parents et amis, ou Écoute et créativité)
Menu