Anna Thorvaldsdóttir | Anna Maggý
Composer

Anna Thorvaldsdóttir

Iceland

Anna Thorvaldsdóttir (b. 1977) is an Icelandic composer whose “seemingly boundless textural imagination” (The New York Times) and “striking” (The Guardian) sound world has made her “one of the most distinctive voices in contemporary music” (NPR). Her music is composed as much by sounds and nuances as by harmonies and lyrical material and tends to evoke “a sense of place and personality” (The New York Times) through a distinctive “combination of power and intimacy” (Gramophone). “Never less than fascinating,” according to Gramophone Magazine, it is written as an ecosystem of sounds, where materials continuously grow in and out of each other, often inspired in an important way by nature and its many qualities, in particular structural ones, like proportion and flow. 

Anna's music is widely performed internationally and has been commissioned by many of the world's leading orchestras, ensembles, and arts organizations. Portrait concerts with her music have been featured at several major venues and music festivals. Her works have been nominated and awarded on many occasions—most notably, her “confident and distinctive handling of the orchestra” (Gramophone) has garnered her the prestigious Nordic Council Music Prize, the New York Philharmonic's Kravis Emerging Composer Award, and Lincoln Center’s Emerging Artist Award and Martin E. Segal Award.

Anna is currently based in the London area. She regularly teaches and gives presentations on composition, in academic settings, as part of residencies, and in private lessons. She is currently Composer-in-Residence with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra. Anna holds a Ph.D. from the University of California in San Diego.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.
Anna Thorvaldsdóttir | Anna Maggý
Compositrice

Anna Thorvaldsdóttir

Islande

Anna Thorvaldsdottir (née en 1977) est une compositrice islandaise dont « l’imagination structurelle en apparence infinie » (The New York Times) et le « remarquable » (The Guardian) univers sonore lui ont valu d’être désignée comme l’une « des voix les plus uniques de la musique contemporaine » (NPR). Sa musique se compose autant de sons et de nuances que d’harmonies et d’éléments lyriques qui évoquent un « sentiment d’appartenance et d’individualité » (The New York Times) par leur mélange particulier de « pouvoir » et d’« intimité » (Gramophone). Selon le magazine Gramophone, sa musique, « jamais sans être fascinante », est composée comme un écosystème de sons où les éléments se mêlent et se démêlent sans cesse, souvent inspirés en grande partie par la nature et ses nombreuses qualités, surtout structurelles, comme la proportion et le mouvement.

Anna Thorvaldsdottir est beaucoup jouée sur la scène internationale. Elle a également reçu des commandes de bon nombre des organisations artistiques, orchestres et ensembles les plus prestigieux du monde. Des portraits-concerts en son honneur ont été donnés dans les grandes salles et les grands festivals. Ses œuvres ont remporté des prix ou été en lice à de nombreuses reprises. On retient notamment « sa direction d’orchestre unique et plein d’assurance » (Gramophone), qui lui a valu le prestigieux prix musical du conseil nordique, le New York Philharmonic’s Kravis Emerging Composer Award, le Lincoln Center’s Emerging Artist Award et le prix Martin E. Segal.

Anna Thorvaldsdottir vit actuellement dans la région de Londres. Elle donne souvent des cours et des présentations sur la composition, que ce soit dans un cadre universitaire, en sa qualité d’artiste résidente ou dans des leçons privées. Elle est l’actuelle compositrice résidente de l’Orchestre symphonique d’Islande. Elle est également titulaire d’un doctorat de l’Université de Californie à San Diego.

Menu