October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Anna Clyne |  Christina Kernohan
composer

Anna Clyne

Anna Clyne (Born in 1980)

London-born Anna Clyne is a GRAMMY-nominated composer of acoustic and electro-acoustic music. Described as a “composer of uncommon gifts and unusual methods” in a New York Times profile and as “fearless” by NPR, Clyne’s work often includes collaborations with cutting-edge choreographers, visual artists, filmmakers, and musicians. In October 2020, AVIE Records released Mythologies, a portrait album featuring Clyne’s works recorded live by the BBC Symphony Orchestra.

Several upcoming projects explore Clyne’s fascination with visual arts, including Color Field for the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, inspired by the artwork of Mark Rothko; Between the Rooms, a film with choreographer Kim Brandstrup and LA Opera; and Woman Holding a Balance, a film collaboration with Orchestra of St. Luke's and artist Jyll Bradley, with whom Clyne also teamed up for the 2020 film, Pardes, commissioned by the Scottish Ensemble.

Other upcoming premieres include A Thousand Mornings for the Fidelio Trio; Fractured Time for the Kaleidoscope Ensemble; and Overflow for wind ensemble, inspired by the poetry of Emily Dickinson, composed for the Scottish Chamber Orchestra.

Clyne served as composer-in-residence for the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre national d’Île-de-France, and Berkeley Symphony. She is currently the Scottish Chamber Orchestra’s Associate Composer through the 2021–2022 season and a mentor composer for Orchestra of St Luke's DeGaetano Composer Institute.

Clyne’s music is represented on the AVIE Records, Cantaloupe Music, Cedille, MajorWho Media, New Amsterdam, Resound, Tzadik, and VIA labels. Both Prince of Clouds and Night Ferry were nominated for 2015 GRAMMY Awards. Her music is published exclusively by Boosey & Hawkes. boosey.com/clyne

Reprinted by kind permission of Boosey & Hawkes

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 12 février 2021.
Anna Clyne |  Christina Kernohan
compositrice

Anna Clyne

Anna Clyne (née en 1980)

Née à Londres, Anna Clyne est une compositrice de musique acoustique et électroacoustique, finaliste aux prix GRAMMY. Saluée pour son courage par NPR, cette « compositrice aux talents hors du commun et aux méthodes inusitées », selon un portrait publié dans le New York Times, collabore fréquemment avec chorégraphes, artistes visuels, cinéastes et musiciens d’avant-garde. En octobre 2020, AVIE Records a fait paraître Mythologies, un album-portrait de ses œuvres enregistrées en direct par l’Orchestre symphonique de la BBC.

Clyne explore passionnément les arts visuels dans plusieurs projets en cours, tels Color Field, pour l’Orchestre symphonique de Baltimore, qui s’inspire des œuvres de Mark Rothko; Between the Rooms, un film avec le chorégraphe Kim Brandstrup et l’Opéra de Los Angeles; et Woman Holding a Balance, film réalisé en collaboration avec l’Orchestre de St. Luke et l’artiste Jyll Bradley, avec laquelle la compositrice s’est associée pour le film Pardes (2020), commandé par le Scottish Ensemble.

Parmi les premières à venir, notons A Thousand Mornings pour le trio Fidelio; Fractured Time pour l’ensemble Kaleidoscope; et Overflow pour ensemble à vent, qui s’inspire de la poésie d’Emily Dickinson et a été composé pour l’Orchestre de chambre écossais.

Anna Clyne a été compositrice en résidence auprès des orchestres symphoniques de Chicago, Baltimore et Berkeley ainsi que de l’Orchestre national d’Île-de-France. Elle est compositrice associée à l’Orchestre de chambre écossais jusqu’à la fin de la saison 2021–2022, et est mentore à l’Institut de composition DeGaetano de l’Orchestre de St. Luke.

La musique de Clyne, publiée en exclusivité par Boosey & Hawkes (boosey.com/clyne), est parue sous étiquettes AVIE Records, Cantaloupe Music, Cedille, MajorWho Media, New Amsterdam, Resound, Tzadik et VIA. Prince of Clouds et Night Ferry ont été cités aux prix GRAMMY 2015.

Reproduit avec l’aimable autorisation de Boosey & Hawkes

Menu