a rawlings |

Angela Rawlings

a rawlings is a mineral, plant, animal, person, place, or thing. Also known as Dr. Angela Rawlings, they are a Canadian-Icelandic interdisciplinary artist-researcher who works with languages as dominant exploratory material. Their practice seeks and interrogates relationality between bodies—be they human, more-than-human, other-than, non. Meditating on languages as inescapable lenses of human engagement, rawlings’ methods over the past twenty years have included sensorial poetries, vocal and contact improvisation, theatre of the rural, and conversations with landscapes.  

rawlings has an extensive solo and group performance and exhibition background. They have performed throughout North America, Europe, and Australia at festivals including Roskilde Festival (Denmark), Oslo International Poetry Festival (Norway), and Tectonics Music Festival (Iceland, Scotland). Their work has been exhibited internationally at venues including Dedee Shattuck Gallery (USA), Hafnarborg (Iceland), Hanstholm Fyr (Denmark), and Kunsthall Trondheim (Norway). 

rawlings’ books include Wide slumber for lepidopterists (Coach House Books, 2006), Gibber (online, 2012), o w n (CUE BOOKS, 2015), si tu (MaMa Multimedijalni Institut, 2017), Sound of Mull (Laboratory for Aesthetics and Ecology, 2019). Their book Wide slumber was adapted to music theatre by Valgeir Sigurðsson and VaVaVoom (2014). Their libretti include Bodiless (for Gabrielle Herbst, 2014) and Longitude (for Davíð Brynjar Franzson, 2014). rawlings’ Áfall / Trauma was shortlisted for the Leslie Scalapino Award for Innovative Women Playwrights (2013). 

rawlings received their PhD from the University of Glasgow where they researched how to perform geochronology in the Anthropocene. In 2021-2, they are researching becoming-with whales in the climate crisis as a postdoctoral fellow with H.M. Queen Margrethe’s and Vigdís Finnbogadóttir’s Interdisciplinary Research Centre on Ocean, Climate, and Society. rawlings also teaches at the Iceland University of the Arts in the MFA for Performing Arts and MA in Music (New Audiences and Innovative Practices). rawlings loves in Iceland. 

Menu

a rawlings |
Co-commissaire, SPHERE

Angela Rawlings

a rawlings est un minéral, une plante, un animal, une personne, un lieu ou une chose. Artiste interdisciplinaire et scientifique d’origine canado-islandaise, Angela Rawlings se sert des langues comme principal outil d’exploration. Son travail explore les liens unissant les corps – qu’ils soient humains, surhumains, autres qu’humains ou non-humains. Méditant sur les langues vues comme inéluctables prismes de l’interaction humaine, rawlings a utilisé plusieurs méthodes ces vingt dernières années, par exemple la poésie sensorielle, l’improvisation vocale et le contact improvisation, le théâtre de la ruralité, et même les conversations avec le paysage. 

En solo ou en groupe, rawlings se produit dans divers festivals en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Australie, notamment le Festival de Roskilde (Danemark), le Festival international de poésie d’Oslo (Norvège) et le Festival de musique Tectonics (Islande, Écosse). Ses œuvres ont été exposées à l’étranger, notamment à la Dedee Shattuck Gallery (États-Unis), à Hafnarborg (Islande), à Hanstholm Fyr (Danemark) et à Kunsthall Trondheim (Norvège). 

Parmi ses livres, on peut citer Wide slumber for lepidopterists (Coach House Books, 2006), Gibber (en ligne, 2012), o w n (CUE BOOKS, 2015), si tu (MaMa Multimedijalni Institut, 2017) et Sound of Mull (Laboratory for Aesthetics and Ecology, 2019). Son livre Wide slumber a été adapté en comédie musicale par Valgeir Sigurðsson et VaVaVoom (2014). Le livret comprend Bodiless (pour Gabrielle Herbst, 2014) et Longitude (pour Davíð Brynjar Franzson, 2014). Son ouvrage Áfall / Trauma a été sélectionné pour le prix Leslie Scalapino récompensant l’innovation chez les femmes dramaturges (2013). 

Après l'obtention d’un doctorat sur la pratique de la géochronologie dans l’anthropocène à l’Université de Glasgow, rawlings étudie depuis 2021 nos relations avec les baleines dans le contexte de la crise climatique, en tant que titulaire de bourse de recherche postdoctorale du Centre de recherche interdisciplinaire de la reine Margrethe et de Vigdís Finnbogadóttir sur l’océan, le climat et la société. rawlings enseigne également à l’Université islandaise des arts – à la maîtrise en arts de la scène et à la maîtrise en musique (nouveaux publics et pratiques innovantes). L’artiste vit en Islande. 

Menu