|

Andrew Balfour

Winnipeg · Manitoba · Canada

Of Cree descent, Andrew Balfour is an innovative composer/conductor/singer/sound designer with a large body of choral, instrumental, electro-acoustic and orchestral works, including Take the Indian (a vocal reflection on missing children), Empire Étrange: The Death of Louis Riel, Bawajigaywin (Vision Quest) and Manitou Sky, an orchestral tone poem. His new Indigenous opera, Mishaboozʼs Realm, was commissioned by LʼAtelier Lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal and Highlands Opera Workshop.

Andrew is also the founder and Artistic Director of the vocal group Camerata Nova, now in its 22nd year of offering a concert series in Winnipeg. With Camerata Nova, Andrew specializes in creating “concept concerts”, many with Indigenous subject matter. These innovative offerings explore a theme through an eclectic array of music, including new works, arrangements and innovative inter-genre and interdisciplinary collaborations.

Andrew has become increasingly passionate about music education and outreach, particularly on northern reserves and in inner-city Winnipeg schools where he has worked on behalf of the National Arts Centre, Camerata Nova, the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra and various Winnipeg school divisions.

In 2007 Andrew received the Mayor of Winnipegʼs Making a Mark Award, sponsored by the Winnipeg Arts Council to recognize the most promising midcareer artist in the City.

 

Music Alive Program Options:

  • Classical Composers (Possible Composers: Vivaldi, Mozart, or R. Murray Schafer)
  • Indigenous Arts (Possible Themes: Music & Nature, Family & Friends, or Listening & Creativity)
  • Cross-Cultural Experience (Possible Themes: Music & Nature, Family & Friends, or Listening & Creativity)
Menu

|

Andrew Balfour

Winnipeg · Manitoba · Canada

D’ascendance crie, Andrew Balfour est un compositeur, chef d’orchestre, chanteur et concepteur sonore novateur, fort d’un imposant catalogue d’œuvres chorales, instrumentales, électroacoustiques et orchestrales, telles Take the Indian (méditation chantée sur les enfants disparus); Empire Étrange: The Death of Louis Riel; Bawajigaywin (« quête de vision »); et Manitou Sky, un poème symphonique pour orchestre. Son nouvel opéra autochtone, Mishabooz’s Realm, lui a été commandé par l’Atelier lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal et le Highlands Opera Workshop.

M. Balfour est fondateur et directeur artistique de l’ensemble vocal Camerata Nova, qui présente, pour une 22e année consécutive, une série de concerts à Winnipeg. L’ensemble se spécialise dans la création de concerts thématiques, dont beaucoup abordent des questions autochtones. Ces programmes novateurs se penchent sur un thème à travers un large spectre musical – nouvelles compositions, arrangements inédits, collaborations interdisciplinaires et entre artistes évoluant dans des sphères musicales variées.

Passionné d’éducation musicale et de rayonnement, le compositeur œuvre auprès des écoles des réserves du nord et du centre-ville de Winnipeg, au nom du Centre national des Arts, de Camerata Nova, de l’Orchestre symphonique de Winnipeg et de différents districts scolaires.

Andrew Balfour a reçu en 2007 un prix du maire de Winnipeg, parrainé par le Conseil des arts de la ville, à titre d’artiste à mi-carrière le plus prometteur.

 

Options programme Vive la musique:

  • Compositeurs classiques (compositeurs possibles : Vivaldi, Mozart ou R. Murray Schafer)
  • Arts autochtones (thèmes possibles : Musique et nature, Parents et amis, ou Écoute et créativité)
  • Expérience interculturelle (thèmes possibles : Musique et nature, Parents et amis, ou Écoute et créativité)
Menu