Allyson McHardy |
mezzo-soprano

Allyson McHardy

Allyson McHardy, mezzo-soprano

A unique vocal colour and commanding stage presence are the hallmarks of performances by mezzo-soprano Allyson McHardy. Hailed by Joshua Kosman of the San Francisco Chronicle as “a singer of enormous imagination and versatility,” she has appeared with the Canadian Opera Company, Paris Opera, San Francisco Opera, Théâtre capitole du Toulouse, Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, Glyndebourne Festival, Boston Symphony Orchestra, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, Toronto Symphony Orchestra, Les Violons du Roy, and Warsaw Philharmonic.

Allyson’s career is a carefully curated balance of opera and concert repertoire that moves easily from Donizetti to Handel, from Heggie to Mahler. Of particular note were her performances as Julie Riel in Harry Somers’s Louis Riel, a Canadian Opera Company production also seen in Ottawa and Québec City as part of the nation’s Sesquicentennial Celebrations. She is also a Prix Opus Winner for Opéra de Montréal’s Dead Man Walking and Opéra de Québec’s Der fliegende Holländer. She has appeared with major orchestras across the globe for performances of such works as Ligeti’s Requiem with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Mahler’s Das Lied von der Erde with the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, Mozart’s Requiem with Ottawa’s National Arts Centre Orchestra, Handel’s Messiah in St. Louis, Madrid, and Chicago, and a staged production of Mozart’s Mass in D Minor for the Toronto Symphony Orchestra. 

Allyson’s discography includes the JUNO-nominated recordings Healey Willan: Summer Night with the Canadian Art Song Project (Centrediscs), Handel’s Orlando with the Pacific Baroque Orchestra (ATMA), and Caldara’s La conversione di Clodoveo, Re di Francia (ATMA), which is also ADISQ-nominated. Other recordings include Bellini’s Norma with the Warsaw Philharmonic (Philharmonia Narodowa), two works by Harry Somers—Serinette and A Midwinter Night’s Dream (Centrediscs), and Ukrainian art song by Mykola Lysenko in a six-disc collection (Musica Leopolis).

Menu

Allyson McHardy |
alto

Allyson McHardy

Allyson McHardy, mezzo-soprano

Une voix aux couleurs uniques et une présence scénique captivante, voilà ce qui distingue les prestations de la mezzo-soprano Allyson McHardy. Décrite par Joshua Kosman dans le San Francisco Chronicle comme une « chanteuse dotée d’une imagination et d’une polyvalence prodigieuses », elle s’est produite avec la Compagnie d’opéra canadienne, l’Opéra de Paris et l’Opéra de San Francisco, ainsi qu’au Théâtre du Capitole de Toulouse, au Festival d’Aix-en-Provence et au Festival de Glyndebourne, et avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Boston, l’Orchestre symphonique de Chicago, l’Orchestre symphonique de Saint-Louis, l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, Les Violons du Roy et l’Orchestre philharmonique de Varsovie.

Sa carrière est faite d’un savant mélange de programmes d’opéra et de concerts qui passent aisément de Donizetti à Handel, de Heggie à Mahler. On retient d’ailleurs son interprétation de Julie Riel dans Louis Riel de Harry Somers, une production de la Compagnie d’opéra canadienne présentée à Ottawa et à Québec à l’occasion des célébrations du cent cinquantenaire du Canada. Mme McHardy a également été lauréate d’un prix Opus pour Dead Man Walking de l’Opéra de Montréal et pour Der fliegende Holländer de l’Opéra de Québec. Elle s’est produite aux côtés des meilleurs orchestres du monde, interprétant des œuvres comme le Requiem de Ligeti avec l’Orchestre royal du Concertgebouw, Das Lied von der Erde de Mahler avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Vancouver, le Requiem de Mozart avec l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts d’Ottawa, Le Messie de Handel à Saint-Louis, Madrid et Chicago, et une production scénique de la Messe en ré mineur de Mozart avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto.

La discographie d’Allyson McHardy comprend des enregistrements mis en nomination pour des prix Juno, dont ceux de Healey Willan : Summer Night, avec le Canadian Art Song Project (Centrediscs), d’Orlando de Handel, avec l’Orchestre baroque du Pacifique (ATMA) et de La conversione di Clovodeo, Re di Francia de Caldara (ATMA), qui a aussi été en lice pour un prix de l’ADISQ. Parmi ses autres enregistrements, on compte notamment Norma de Bellini avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de Varsovie (Philharmonia Narodowa), Serinette et Midwinter Night’s Dream de Harry Somers (Centrediscs) et un récital de chant ukrainien de Mykola Lysenko présenté dans une collection de six disques (Musica Leopolis).

Menu