January 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Alice Munro |
Author

Alice Munro

Alice Munro was born on July 10, 1931 and raised on a farm outside of Wingham, Ontario. She attended the University of Western Ontario where she studied English and published her first short story in the university’s literary magazine. She married James Munro in 1951 and moved to Victoria, British Columbia where she had three children and co-owned a bookshop with her husband.

Her first book of short stories was published in 1968 and since then she has published fifteen more. Her work frequently appears in magazines including The New Yorker, The Atlantic Monthly, and The Paris Review. She divorced in 1972 and moved back to Ontario to take up a post as writer-in-residence at the University of Western Ontario, a position she later held at the university of British Columbia and at the University of Queensland.

She married Gerald Fremlin in 1976 and moved to his hometown of Clinton, Ontario, not far from Wingham. Gerald died in April 2013. On December 10, 2013, she was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. Ms. Munro has recently announced her retirement from writing and continues to live in Clinton.

Menu

Alice Munro |
Auteure

Alice Munro

Née le 10 juillet 1931, Alice Munro a grandi sur une ferme près de Wingham (Ontario). Elle a étudié en littérature anglaise à l’Université Western Ontario, où elle a publié sa toute première nouvelle dans la revue littéraire de l’établissement. En 1951, elle a épousé James Munro. Le couple est parti s’établir à Victoria (Colombie-Britannique) où Alice a eu trois enfants et a été copropriétaire, avec James, d’une librairie.

Son premier recueil, paru en 1968, a été suivi de quinze autres. Ses oeuvres sont souvent publiées dans des magazines comme The New Yorker, The Atlantic Monthly et The Paris Review. L’auteure a divorcé en 1972 et est retournée s’installer en Ontario pour devenir auteure en résidence à l’Université Western Ontario, un poste qu’elle a également occupé plus tard à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique et à l’Université du Queensland.

Elle s’est remariée avec Gerald Fremlin en 1976 et a déménagé dans la petite ville natale de son nouvel époux, Clinton (Ontario), non loin de Wingham. Gerald est décédé en avril 2013. Le 10 décembre de la même année, Alice Munro remportait le prix Nobel de littérature. Celle qui vit toujours à Clinton a annoncé récemment qu’elle renonçait à l’écriture.

Menu