| Pierre Racine and Yamada
Principal Youth and Family Conductor

Alain Trudel

Recently appointed Music Director of the Toledo Symphony (USA), conductor Alain Trudel has been praised for his “immense talent as conductor, musician and performer” (La Presse). He is Principal Youth and Family Conductor of the National Arts Centre Orchestra, Music Director of l’Orchestre Symphonique de Laval, and Principal Guest conductor of the Ottawa Symphony Orchestra. Trudel was also the CBC Radio Orchestra conductor, taking the orchestra to new heights of artistic quality, as well as public and critical acclaim.

Trudel has conducted every major orchestra in Canada as well as orchestras in the UK, USA, Sweden, Brazil, Italy, Russia, Japan, Hong-Kong, Malaysia and Latin America. Trudel made his Opera de Montréal debut in 2009 in Mozart’s Magic Flute and conducted the live recording of their 30th anniversary gala. He has been a regular guest since and in March 2017 he conducted to great acclaim (“The entire audience was on its feet for another standing ovation, with concertgoers shouting “wow” and “bravo.” Rolling Stone Magazine, “The Wall Triumphs in Montréal.”  Le Figaro, Paris) the world premiere operatic version of “The Wall”. Trudel will also lead the american premiere at the Cincinnati Opera in July 2018.

Always committed to upcoming generations of musicians, Trudel has served as Conductor of the Toronto Symphony Youth Orchestra from 2014 to 2012 and has regularly been invited to conduct the National Youth Orchestra of Canada. From 2011 to 2015 Trudel was Professor and conductor of the orchestra and opera orchestra at the University of Western and is now guest professor for orchestra and opera at the University of Ottawa.

First known to the public as “the Jascha Heifetz of the trombone” (Le monde de la musique), Alain Trudel has been a guest soloist with orchestras worldwide including the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Hong-Kong Philharmonic, Austrian Radio Orchestra, Festival Musica Strasbourg (France), Klangbogen Festival (Vienna), Akiyoshidai and Hamamatsu festival (Japan). Alain is also a respected composer with performances across America and in Asia.

Alain Trudel was the first Canadian to be a Yamaha international artist, and is the recipient of numerous awards including the Virginia Parker, the Charles Cros Prize (France), the Opus prize and the Heinz Unger Award. He has been named Ambassador of Canadian Music by the Canadian Music Centre and received a Queen’s Jubilee Medal in 2012.

| Pierre Racine et Yamada
Premier chef des concerts jeunesse et famille

Alain Trudel

Récemment nommé à la tête de l'Orchestre symphonique de Toledo (É.-U.), Alain Trudel est salué par La Presse pour son “immense talent de chef d’orchestre, de musicien et d’interprète”. Il est le premier chef des concerts jeunesse et famille de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, le directeur artistique de l’Orchestre symphonique de Laval et le premier chef invité de l’Orchestre symphonique d’Ottawa. Il a aussi été le chef attitré de l’Orchestre de CBC/Radio-Canada, qu’il a conduit vers de nouveaux sommets de qualité artistique et pour lequel il a attiré l’estime du public et de la critique.

Alain Trudel a dirigé tous les grands orchestres du Canada, ainsi que des orchestres au Royaume-Uni, aux États-Unis, en Italie, en Suède, au Brésil, en Russie, au Japon, à Hong Kong, en Malaisie et en Amérique latine. En 2009, il a fait ses débuts avec l’Opéra de Montréal dans la Flûte enchantée de Mozart et l’enregistrement en direct du Gala 30e anniversaire. Il est depuis régulièrement invité par la maison et en mars 2017 il dirige la première mondiale de la version lyrique de The Wall avec grand succès (“The Wall Triomphe à Montréal.”  Le Figaro, Paris, “Toute la salle se leva d’un coup pour une autre ovation en criant « wow » et « bravo. » Rolling Stone Magazine). Il dirigera la premiere américaine à l’Opéra de Cincinnati en juillet 2018.

Très engagé auprès des nouvelles générations de musiciens, M. Trudel a agi comme chef de l'Orchestre des jeunes de Toronto de 2004 à 2012, et a été invité plusieurs fois à diriger l’Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada. Aujourd'hui professeur invité à l'Université d'Ottawa, M. Trudel a également enseigné à l'Université Western dans les domaines opératique et orchestral de 2011 à 2015. 

D’abord connu du public comme « le Jascha Heifetz du trombone » (Le monde de la musique), il s’est produit comme soliste avec des orchestres du monde entier dont l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, l’Orchestre philharmonique de Hong Kong, l’Orchestre de la radio autrichienne, le Festival Musica de Strasbourg (France), le Klangbogen Festival (Vienne), ainsi que les festivals d’Akiyoshidai et de Hamamatsu (Japon). Compositeur respecté, il a signé des œuvres interprétées un peu partout en Amérique et en Asie.

Alain Trudel est le premier Canadien à avoir été « Artiste international Yamaha ». Il a récolté de nombreux honneurs, dont les prix Virginia Parker, Charles Cros (France), Opus et Heinz Unger. Le Centre de musique canadienne l’a désigné « Ambassadeur de la musique canadienne », et il a reçu la médaille du Jubilé de diamant de la reine en 2012.

Menu