Aimee Bouchard | Ibi Kovacs

Aimee Bouchard

Aimee Bouchard (she/her) is an artist educator, arts administrator and theatre maker, as well as an Ontario Certified Teacher. She holds a Bachelor of Arts Honours in Drama and a Bachelor of Education with a focus in Artist in Community Education from Queen’s University. 

Aimee works as the Learning Coordinator in the English Theatre at the National Arts Centre. Before joining the NAC, Aimee worked as the Education & Participation Programs Manager at Young People's Theatre and as the Education Coordinator at Theatre Direct.

As an artist educator, Aimee has developed and facilitated drama programming for schools and communities across Ontario. She is passionate about collaborating with underserved communities to remove barriers to accessing arts education, and some of her favourite facilitation experiences have included working with young people in family shelters and children’s hospitals.

As a theatre artist, Aimee’s practice focuses on theatre for young audiences and immersive and site-specific theatre. She combines these in her work with Single Thread Theatre Company, where she creates immersive theatre experiences for young people which centre them as the heroes of their own stories.

Aimee is also a passionate advocate for accessibility and inclusion in the arts. She represents Canada within the ASSITEJ International Inclusive Arts Network, through which she endeavours to connect artists of all abilities in order to share best practices in access and inclusion in theatre for young audiences across Canada.

Aimee endeavours to support the broader arts education community in her voluntary role serving on the board of the Arts Education Network of Ontario.

Menu

Portrait de Aimee Bouchard © Ibi Kovacs

Aimee Bouchard

Dernière mise à jour: 23 août 2022

Aimee Bouchard (elle) est une artiste enseignante, une administratrice d’activités artistiques, une artiste de théâtre, ainsi qu’une enseignante agréée de l’Ontario. Elle détient un baccalauréat ès arts spécialisé en art dramatique, et un baccalauréat en éducation, portant particulièrement sur les artistes et l’éducation communautaire, de l’Université Queen.

Aimee travaille comme coordonnatrice de l’apprentissage au Théâtre anglais du Centre national des Arts. Avant de se joindre au CNA, Aimee a été gestionnaire des programmes éducatifs et participatifs au Young People's Theatre, et coordonnatrice du volet éducatif du Theatre Direct.

En tant qu’artiste enseignante, Aimee a conçu et animé des programmes d’art dramatique pour des écoles et des communautés ontariennes. Elle aime particulièrement travailler en collaboration avec des communautés mal desservies pour tenter de rendre l’éducation aux arts plus accessible. Parmi ses expériences d’animation favorites figure le travail avec des jeunes vivant dans des refuges familiaux et avec des enfants hospitalisés.

Comme artiste de théâtre, la démarche d’Aimee s’articule autour du théâtre jeunesse et du théâtre immersif et contextuel. Elle conjugue d’ailleurs ceux-ci dans le cadre de son travail avec la compagnie de théâtre Single Thread, où elle crée des expériences théâtrales immersives pour de jeunes publics, qui se retrouvent au centre de leur propre histoire.

Aimee soutient aussi avec passion l’accessibilité et l’inclusion dans le domaine des arts. Elle représente le Canada au sein du Réseau international des arts inclusifs de l’ASSITEJ, où elle s’efforce de mettre en relation des artistes, ayant des capacités différentes, afin qu’ils puissent s’échanger leurs meilleures pratiques en matière d’accessibilité et d’inclusion pour le théâtre jeunesse de partout au Canada.

Aimee travaille à soutenir l’ensemble du secteur des arts et de l’éducation en siégeant bénévolement au conseil d’administration du Arts Education Network of Ontario.

Événements

Médias du CNA avec Aimee Bouchard

Menu