October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
 |
Chair, NAC Board of Trustees

Adrian Burns, LL.D.

Ottawa · ON

Adrian Burns was appointed Chair of the National Arts Centre Board of Trustees on December 11, 2014, and has served on the NAC Board of Trustees since 2002. In addition to her recent appointment as Chair of the NAC, Ms. Burns has also served as Vice Chair and as the Chair of the Human Resources Committee.

Ms. Burns has dedicated her career to Canadian broadcasting and the arts, education, corporate and public governance, and community involvement.  A true community leader, Adrian has been recognized publically for her dedication to many organizations and causes, including being named an Honorary Captain of the Royal Canadian Navy (2012); the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal (2012); the Government of Saskatchewan Centennial Medal (2005); the Government of Saskatchewan Distinguished Service Award (2005), and the Order of Ottawa (2016). She received a Doctor of Laws (LL.D.) from both the University of Regina (2012) and Carleton University (2016).

A businesswoman, Adrian Burns holds business real estate interests in Western Canada. She is a director of SHAW Communications, has been a member of the Copyright Board of Canada, and Chair of the Western Independent Producers Fund of CanWest Global Television.  From 1988 to 1995, she was a Commissioner of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC). Prior to joining the CRTC, she was Business Editor for CFCN-TV in Calgary, and held the positions of anchor, writer, and producer between 1981 and 1988.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de septembre 2020.
 |
Présidente, Conseil d’administration du CNA

Adrian Burns, LL.D.

Ottawa · ON

Nommée présidente du conseil d’administration du Centre national des Arts le 11 décembre 2014, Adrian Burns a assumé divers rôles au sein du conseil depuis 2002, dont celui de vice-présidente. Elle a aussi présidé le Comité des ressources humaines.

Adrian Burns a voué sa carrière à la radiodiffusion canadienne ainsi qu’aux arts, à l’éducation, à la gestion des affaires de l’entreprise et de l’État, et aux activités communautaires. Véritable leader dans la communauté, elle a été saluée pour son travail au sein d’organisations et au nom de diverses causes. Elle a notamment été nommée capitaine de vaisseau honoraire de la Marine royale canadienne (2012); a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II (2012), le Prix de reconnaissance pour services exceptionnels et la Médaille du Centenaire (2005) du gouvernement de la Saskatchewan; a été faite membre de l’Ordre du d’Ottawa (2016); et a obtenu un doctorat honoris causa en droit de l’Université de Regina (2012) et de l’Université Carleton (2016). 

Femme d’affaires, Adrian Burns possède par ailleurs des intérêts immobiliers dans l’ouest du Canada. Elle est membre du conseil d’administration de SHAW Communications, a été membre de la Commission du droit d’auteur du Canada et a été présidente du Western Independent Producers Fund de CanWest Global Television. De 1988 à 1995, elle a été commissaire au Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC). Avant d’entrer au CRTC, elle a été réalisatrice des émissions d’affaires auprès de CFCN-TV à Calgary ainsi que chef d’antenne, rédactrice et réalisatrice (1981–1988).

Menu