Traffic disruptions - Canada Day weekend

The NAC Orchestra’s Canada 150 Tour

 ©

Music Director Alexander Shelley, will lead the NAC Orchestra across the country during the Spring and Fall with performances that pair classical favourites with new Canadian creations. The tour kicks off in Atlantic Canada from April 27 to May 6 starting in St John’s, Newfoundland, followed by stops in Moncton and Saint John (New Brunswick), Charlottetown (PEI), Eskasoni and Halifax (Nova Scotia). The tour will feature the outstanding Canadian violinist James Ehnes as soloist.

The NAC Orchestra’s own Life Reflecteda multi-media concert created by four remarkable Canadian composers and an ensemble of extraordinary performers and multi-media artists, under the direction of Creative Producer and Director Donna Feore – will also be performed in some locations.

Final dates, locations and repertoire for the full tour will be announced in early 2017. A long list of educational engagement activities in dozens of Canadian communities is also planned. Many of these engagement activities will be cross-cultural and give students the opportunity for understanding and exchange with a focus on creative expression through the arts. 

The Canada 150 Tour is made possible with leadership support from Gail and David O’Brien, Dasha Shenkman, OBE, Hon RCM, and Alice and Grant Burton. 

Menu

Tournée canadienne de l’Orchestre du CNA

 ©

Le directeur musical Alexander Shelley dirigera l'Orchestre du CNA à travers le pays, au printemps et à l'automne, avec des concerts dans lesquels les classiques familiers alterneront avec des créations canadiennes. La tournée prendra son envol dans le Canada atlantique, du 27 avril au 6 mai, en commençant par St. John’s (Terre-Neuve), suivi d'escales à Moncton et Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick), Charlottetown (Î.P.-É), et Eskasoni et Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse). L'extraordinaire violoniste canadien James Ehnes sera de la tournée comme soliste.

La production Réflexions sur la vie de l'Orchestre du CNA – un concert multimédia créé par quatre compositeurs canadiens remarquables, et un groupe de formidables interprètes et artistes de différentes disciplines, sous la direction de la productrice du contenu créatif et metteure en scène Donna Feore – sera aussi présentée à quelques endroits dans le cadre de la tournée.

Les dates, les escales et le programme complet de la tournée seront annoncés au début de 2017. Une longue liste d'activités éducatives participatives est aussi prévue dans des dizaines de collectivités canadiennes. Bon nombre de ces activités participatives seront interculturelles et donneront aux élèves une occasion de fraterniser et d'échanger, dans un contexte axé sur l'expression créative à travers les arts. 

La Tournée Canada 150 est rendue possible grâce au soutien exemplaire de Gail et David O’Brien, Dasha Shenkman, OBE, Hon RCM, et Alice et Grant Burton.  

Menu