This event ended on: Dec 5, 2020

James Ehnes Plays Beethoven

with the NAC Orchestra

Music Classical music

Watch more in this series

  • #CanadaPerforms
  • NAC Orchestra

  Dec 5, 2020 - 8 PM EST

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61 (James Ehnes) (44 mins) LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92 (36 minutes)

Original broadcast date: December 5, 2020

Join us for a concert of all Beethoven, featuring our esteemed Artist in Residence, James Ehnes.

Beethoven’s landmark Violin Concerto in D, his singular piece in the genre, was a turning point for the concerto. The first “Romantic” concerto, it pushed the limits of the form, in length, complexity and structure. The first of three movements opens with five soft, even beats on the timpani that remain discernible throughout. The concerto then floats into the second movement, a serene, pensive, unhurried passage of leisurely melody. Finally, sharp orchestral chords rise without pause, leading into the lively Finale.  This piece overwhelmingly demonstrates that Beethoven was not beholden to convention and his dalliance with the genre showed the way for generations of composers to come.

Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 exudes a cheerful exuberance of celestial proportion. Composed at the same time as the celebrated “Immortal Beloved” letters of 1812, the mysterious 10-page note was penned by the lovelorn composer over the course of two days. Found only after his death, its addressee remains unknown and hotly debated to this day.

Like the letters, this symphony exudes tremendous joy and happiness, tempered by a glimpse into brooding sadness and pain.  Experience the thrill of this “dance-like” symphony, and revel in the indomitable spirit and brilliance of Beethoven.


  • james-ehnes
    Violin James Ehnes
  • bio-orchestra
    Featuring National Arts Centre Orchestra
  • Conductor Alexander Shelley

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers