Parker Plays Mendelssohn

[x] Close

Jon Kimura Parker

Photo: Tara McMullen

  • R. Murray Schafer Dream-E-Scape
  • Mendelssohn Piano Concerto No. 1
  • Schumann Symphony No. 4

Inspired by his sunny sojourn in Italy (and a brief infatuation with a young pianist), Mendelssohn composed an equally unclouded piano concerto, brimming with free-flowing lyrical lines and opportunities for displays of virtuosity by NAC Orchestra favourite Jon Kimura Parker. Schumann presented his Fourth Symphony to his beloved wife on her 22nd birthday, saying it contained her portrait in a melody he called the “Clara” theme. Listen for it, woven like a shimmering thread throughout the work. To begin the concert, re-enter Canadian composer R. Murray Schafer’s evocative musical landscape.


Parker Plays Mendelssohn is part of Winterlude, the Capital's winter celebration.


  • Hannu Lintu conductor
  • Jon Kimura Parker piano
Media Partner