This event ended on: Oct 23, 2021

WolfGANG Sessions

NACO at the Fourth

Music Classical music Chamber music Violin Cello

Watch more in this series

  • NAC Orchestra

  Oct 23, 2021 - 8 PM EDT   90 minutes with no intermission.

SEBASTIAN FAGERLUND Octet Autumn Equinox CLAUDE VIVIER Piece for Violin and Clarinet KEIKO DEVAUX Bioluminescence for brass septet
*NAC Commission/World Premiere

Wolfgang is back! The NAC Orchestra’s popular sold-out series mixing contemporary and indie classical comes home to the Fourth Stage. Get ready to hear classical music with a wild side.

Have you ever wondered what the visual magic of fireflies would sound like? The premiere of Carrefour composer Keiko Devaux’s Bioluminescence, a new work for brass septet, captures just that sound, and will leave you feeling spellbound. *WORLD PREMIERE* NAC Orchestra commission as part of the Carrefour Composer Program, made possible by the Canada Council for the Arts.

Finnish composer Sebastian Fagerlund took inspiration from his own opera, Autumn Sonata, to write his Octet, “Autumn Equinox”. The octet’s three movements are full of reflection and energy, colliding and overlapping and constantly creating new sonic experiences as the music unfolds. NACO Principal Guest Conductor John Storgårds joins our musicians as a special guest to lead this exciting work.


  • Keiko Devaux ©
    Composer Keiko Devaux
  •  ©
    Composer Claude Vivier
  • John Storgårds ©
    Violin John Storgårds
  • Yosuke Kawasaki ©
    Violin Yosuke Kawasaki
  •  ©
    Violin Jessica Linnebach
  •  ©
    Viola Jethro Marks
  • Rachel Mercer ©
    Cello Rachel Mercer
  • Hilda Cowie ©
    Double Bass Hilda Cowie
  •  ©
    Clarinet Kimball Sykes
  • Christopher Millard ©
    Bassoon Christopher Millard
  •  ©
    French Horn Lawrence Vine
  • Julie Fauteux ©Fred Cattroll
    French Horn Julie Fauteux
  •  ©
    French Horn Louis-Pierre Bergeron
  •  ©
    Trumpet Karen Donnelly
  • Donald Renshaw ©Fred Cattroll
    Trombone Donald Renshaw
  • Colin Traquair ©
    Trombone Colin Traquair
  •  ©
    Tuba Chris Lee
  •  ©
    Clarinet Sean Rice

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address