This event ended on: Dec 15, 2020

NACO at the Fourth

with Ironwood Quartet

Music Classical music Chamber music Violin Cello

Watch more in this series

  • #CanadaPerforms
  • NAC Orchestra

  Dec 15, 2020 - 8 PM EST   60 minutes with no intermission.

BEETHOVEN String Quartet No. 3 in D major, Op. 18, No. 3  (25’)
I. Allegro
II. Andante con moto 
III. Allegro 
IV. Presto  

JESSIE MONTGOMERY Break Away for string quartet
I. Lilting
II. Songbird
III. Smoke
IV. Quick Pass
V. Break Away

TRAD./arr. DANISH STRING QUARTET Old Reinlender from Sønndala
TRAD./arr. DANISH STRING QUARTET Sekstur from Vendsyssel-The Peat Dance


Watch the livestream right here, on this page, at 8pm on Tuesday, December 15.

This intimate chamber concert features four fantastic musicians from our string section, known collectively as the Ironwood Quartet. First formed in 2015 for the debut of The Wolfgang Sessions, the quartet is known for performing the classical and new repertoire with equal vigour.

Beethoven’s third quartet from his Opus 18 begins the program. This sunny D major work for string quartet from his “early” quartets (1796–1800) is considered the most lyrical, humorous and relaxed.

American composer Jessie Montgomery wrote her string quartet Break Away in 2013 for the PUBLIQuartet (PQ). Developed out of improvisations from when the PQ was in residence at the Banff Centre, the music requires the quartet to both play and “break away”, resulting, as the composer says, in a “seamless dialogue between the written score and the whims of the quartet, in which the piece takes on further transformation at each performance.”


  • ironwood-quartet-square
    Featuring Ironwood Quartet
  • jessica-linnebach
    Associate concertmaster Jessica Linnebach
  • Violin Carissa Klopoushak
  • david-marks-2
    Associate Principal Viola David Marks
  • julia-maclaine-2
    Assistant Principal Cello Julia MacLaine

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers