Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend

Chooi Plays Tchaikovsky

8:00 pm

October 2019

  1. Oct 30 2019


  2. Oct 31 2019


Timothy Chooi © Dan Sweeney
Music Classical music Masterworks Violin
  • Mussorgsky Night on Bald Mountain
  • Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto
  • Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6, “Pathétique”
  • Conductor Dalia Stasevska
  • Violin Timothy Chooi

In her North American debut, Finnish conductor Dalia Stasevska takes the NAC Orchestra through a night of exceptional music, beginning with Modest Mussorgsky’s delightfully sinister Night on Bald Mountain, instantly recognizable from Walt Disney’s classic Fantasia –and a perfect way to start your Halloween!

Hailing from Victoria, BC, guest violinist Timothy Chooi made his first NAC appearance in 2012 as part of the “My First NAC” Showcase Concert series featuring Canada’s star musicians of tomorrow. As a protégé of NAC Orchestra former music director Pinchas Zukerman, Chooi has since won a wide range of violin competitions worldwide. Tonight he performs the passionate Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto.

In a devastating twist of fate, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky conducted the first public performance of his final symphony just nine days before his death. His Symphony No. 6, nicknamed the “Pathetique,” (meaning passionate, rather than pitiful) is arguably one of the most heartbreaking and romantic musical compositions ever written. Yet far from feeling dejected as he wrote it, Tchaikovsky believed it to be the best of his works, exploring as it did the stubborn and beautiful persistence of life before it fades away. Explaining to his brother that “I love it as I have never loved any of my other musical offspring,” Tchaikovsky revelled in this emotional work, which freed him from the populism of his most well-known creation, The Nutcracker, and allowed him the free expression he hadn’t experienced in years.

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Oct 28
Oct 29
Oct 30
  • 8:00 PM
Oct 31
  • 8:00 PM
Nov 1
Nov 2
Nov 3
Timothy Chooi © Dan Sweeney
Dalia Stasevska © Jarmo Katila
Timothy Chooi © Dan Sweeney


  • Conductor Dalia Stasevska
  • Violin Timothy Chooi