The Finalists for the 2016 Siminovitch Prize

“These are bold visionaries who are shaping the future of theatre now in creating experiences that are challenging, transformative and magical.”

This is how Jury Chair Bob White describes the finalists for the 2016 Siminovitch Prize; Jonathan Christenson, Ravi Jain, Christian Lapointe, Ross Manson and Nadia Ross (2016 laureate).

Each these creators demonstrates a willingness to place themselves in the world of the unknown, to always be reaching for something just beyond their grasp. They are adventurers and risk takers who are transforming Canadian theatre.

This year, the Siminovitch Prize launched a new partnership with the National Arts Centre. Both the NAC’s English Theatre and French Theatre are led by Siminovitch Prize laureates – Jillian Keiley (2004) and Brigitte Haentjens (2007). In fact, since the Prize’s inception in 2001, works from all fifteen laureates have graced the national stage at the NAC.

 “We are so happy to be a part of making the Siminovitch Prize truly national,” said Jillian Keiley, Artistic Director of English Theatre. “The Siminovitch Prize values and strengthens Canadian theatre, and the NAC’s aim of celebrating the work of Canadian art and artists fits perfectly with their mission. It’s a natural partnership.”

“The Siminovitch Prize made a big difference in both my career and the way others see my work,” says Brigitte Haentjens, Artistic Director of NAC’s French Theatre. “It’s an extraordinary award that recognizes the talent of young creative artists, and opportunities like these are pretty rare.”

The Siminovitch Prize shines a spotlight on excellence and innovation in Canadian theatre with an annual prize of $100,000. Over a three-year cycle, the Prize celebrates a professional director, playwright or designer, who is an acknowledged leader in the theatre whose work is transformative and influential. The Siminovitch Prize also encourages and supports emerging talent with a protégé prize awarded to a theatre artist chosen by the recipient. The Prize was launched in 2001 to honour the values and achievements of the distinguished scientist Lou Siminovitch and pioneering playwright Elinore Siminovitch.

Join our email list for the latest updates!