February 12, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

The Siminovitch prize

The NAC has been proud to partner with the Siminovitch Prize since 2016 to produce the annual ceremony each fall.

2019 Laureates Maiko Yamamoto and James Long with Protégé Conor Wylie © John Arano
2019 Laureates and Protégé with Siminovitch family © John Arano
2019 Laureates Maiko Yamamoto and James Long © John Arano
Dr Lou Siminovitch, 2019 Jury Chair Vanessa Porteous and Dr Kathy Siminovitch © John Arano
2018 Protégé Max-Otto Fauteux and Laureate Stéphanie Jasmin © Andrew Alexander
2018 Laureate Stépanie Jasmin with Dr. Lou Siminovitch © Andrew Alexander
2017 Protégée Christine Quintana and Laureate Marcus Youssef © Andrew Alexander
2017 Protégée Christine Quintana, Dr. Lou Siminovitch and 2017 Laureate Marcus Youssef © Andrew Alexander
2016 Laureate Nadia Ross with Protégées Sarah Conn and Shaista Latif © Marnie Richardson
2016 Siminovitch Finalists Nadia Ross, Jonathan Christenson, Ravi Jain, Ross Manson, Christian Lapointe ©
2016 Laureate Nadia Ross with Jury Chair Bob White © Marnie Richardson
Dr Lou Siminovitch and Jillian Keiley © Andrew Alexander
Simovitch Prize © Andrew Alexander

The Siminovitch Prize was launched in 2001 to honour the values and achievements of the renowned scientist Lou Siminovitch and the late Elinore Siminovitch, a pioneering playwright. The Prize shines a spotlight on excellence and innovation in Canadian theatre with an annual award of $100,000. The Prize also recognizes the importance of mentorship to support emerging talent. The laureate receives $75,000 and, in turn, chooses a protégé to receive $25,000.

Over a three-year cycle, the Siminovitch Prize celebrates a professional director, playwright or designer who is an acknowledged leader in the theatre and whose work is transformative and influential. The 2019 Prize was awarded to directors Maiko Yamamoto and James Long, and protégé Conor Wylie.

Both the NAC’s English Theatre and French Theatre are led by Siminovitch Prize laureates – Jillian Keiley (2004) and Brigitte Haentjens (2007). In fact, since the Prize’s inception in 2001, works from all its laureates have graced the national stage at the NAC.

The 2020 Siminovitch Prize laureate will be announced at a virtual ceremony on Thursday, November 26 at 7pm EST. WATCH HERE.

The 2020 Finalists

Learn more at siminovitchprize.com

  • video: a no hands production

    no hands logo