October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
This event has passed
Music Classical music Masterworks Piano
  • Qigang Chen L’éloignement
  • Mozart Piano Concerto No. 23 in A major
  • Mozart Symphony No. 41 in C major, “Jupiter”

Qigang Chen is a musical chameleon whose compositions are filled with echoes of his youth in China, alongside vivid textures inspired by later life in France. His incandescent composition for string orchestra, L’éloignement, is filled with beautiful expressions of traditional Chinese folk music, suggesting the loneliness of his years in confinement for “ideological reeducation” during China’s Cultural Revolution.

Prepare for fireworks when guest soloist George Li performs Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 23, one of the composer’s most passionate and expressive works, and one of his first concerti to include a relatively new instrument called the “clarinet.” Praised by The Washington Post for his “staggering technical prowess” and “sense of depth and command,” George Li exudes an effortless grace and maturity at the piano far beyond his years.

Mozart’s Symphony No. 41 was his last and longest, and evidence that his prowess as a composer never waned. Nicknamed for the majestic passages that conjure the thunderbolts of Roman god Jupiter, Symphony No. 41 is filled with pure and fiery passion that rightly places it among the greatest symphonies of all time.

Guest conductor Xian Zhang makes her welcome return to the podium of Southam Hall to lead the NAC Orchestra in this blending of great musical minds.

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission

video: George Li plays Mozart Piano Concerto No 23 in A Major, K 488
George Li plays Mozart Piano Concerto No 23 in A Major, K 488
George Li © Simon Fowler
Xian Zhang © B. Ealovega