China’s National Centre for the Performing Arts Orchestra

NAC Southam Hall

NAC Southam Hall

[x] Close

Lü Siqing

Lü Jia

Lü Siqing

  • Chen Qigang Wu Xing (Five Elements)
  • Chen Gang, He Zhanhao The Butterfly Lovers’ Violin concerto
  • Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5

The Butterfly Lovers’ Violin Concerto takes graceful flight in this unique concert by China’s premier orchestra. In a harmonious melding of Eastern and Western traditions, the music evokes an ancient legend of star-crossed lovers—metamorphosed into beautiful butterflies—soaring together forever.

“Upon hitting the airwaves the next day, [the Concerto] became a national hit” with Lu Siqing’s performance showing the “expressive fire typical of his style.” (Central China Television)

The Orchestra, led by Chief Conductor Lu Jia, also performs Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony.


  • China National Centre for the Performing Arts (NCPA) Orchestra US & Canada Tour

  • The Butterfly Lovers' Violin Concerto


  • Lü Jia conductor
  • Lü Siqing violin
Learn More:
Presenting Sponsor of China's NCPA Orchestra Canada Tour
Manulife e 349 265x49

Official Sponsor of China’s NCPA Orchestra

Hotel Partner