This event has passed
Pekka Kuusisto © Photo: Kaapo Kamu
  • Sibelius Rakastava (The Lover)
  • Magnus Lindberg Violin Concerto
  • Arvo Pärt Fratres
  • Sibelius Symphony No. 3

The wintry and majestic landscapes of Finland continue to be a muse for classical composers.  Finnish conductor John Storgårds makes his first appearance with the NAC Orchestra leading this program of works depicting the national character and gorgeous landscapes of his proud homeland.  Fellow Finn and International Sibelius Competition winner, Pekka Kuusisto also makes his debut with the Canadian premiere of Magnus Lindberg’s showy Violin Concerto.  Finally, Sibelius’s good-natured Symphony No. 3 brings a triumphal conclusion to this all-Finnish program.

Pekka Kuusisto © Photo: Kaapo Kamu
John Storgårds © Photo: Marco Borggreve
NAC Orchestra