May 20, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
© Andrew McCoy

The Frenergy Tour: Young Musicians Bringing Canada and the European Union Together

This event has passed
© Andrew McCoy
Music Classical music
  • John Estacio Frenergy
  • Saint-Saëns Introduction and Rondo Capriccioso in A minor, Op. 28
  • R. Wagner Overture to Tannhäuser (Paris Version)
  • Rossini Overture to William Tell
  • MAURICE RAVEL Tzigane for Violin and Orchestra (Marie Bégin) (9 mins)
  • Stravinsky Suite from The Firebird (1945 revision)

The National Youth Orchestra of Canada (NYO Canada) and the European Union Youth Orchestra (EUYO) join forces for The Frenergy Tour, a landmark collaboration and celebration of music and friendship, featuring a combined total of 76 outstanding young musicians. Acclaimed Viennese conductor Sascha Goetzel leads the four-city tour, with music by Rossini, Ravel, Saint-Saëns, Stravinsky, and Wagner, as well as Canadian composer John Estacio’s Frenergy for orchestra, connoting both friendship and frenetic energy! Fast-rising violinist and NYO Canada alumnus Blake Pouliot is featured as guest soloist. This ground-breaking tour, including concerts in Toronto, Kingston, Montreal, and Ottawa, is made possible by the European Union Delegation to Canada.

Performance is approximately 1 hour and 40 minutes including intermission

© Andrew McCoy
© Marco Caselli Nirmal


  • Featuring National Youth Orchestra of Canada
  • Featuring The European Union Youth Orchestra
  • Conductor Sascha Goetzel
  • Featuring Blake Pouliot