Pietari Inkinen © Nguye Phuong Thao
Pietari Inkinen © Nguye Phuong Thao
Music Classical music Masterworks Violin Cello
  • AVNER DORMAN Double Concerto
  • Beethoven Symphony No. 3 in E-flat major, Op. 55, “Eroica”

Don’t miss the Canadian premiere of Israeli-born composer Avner Dorman’s superb new Double Concerto – a co-commission by the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra, the Boston Symphony Orchestra, and the NAC Orchestra – and the welcome return to Southam Hall of two cherished talents. Dorman wrote the concerto for violin and cello to mark the 70th birthday of Pinchas Zukerman, who will perform with cellist Amanda Forsyth, perfectly showcasing the dynamism of this husband and wife duo.

Guest conductor Pietari Inkinen has been a musical trailblazer for most of his life, from first taking the podium at the tender age of 14 to his early years in a Finnish rock band to founding and leading his chamber group the Inkinen Trio.

Performance is approximately 2 hours including intermission

Pietari Inkinen © Nguye Phuong Thao
Pinchas Zukerman © Cheryl Mazak
Amanda Forsyth © Cheryl Mazak