NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until August 31
2019 recipient: Sandra Oh © James White

2019 Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards

This event has passed
2019 recipient: Sandra Oh © James White
Special Events Music Theatre Dance
“...a star-studded, highly entertaining and smartly produced event...” Toronto Star

Join us for a fun and elegant evening celebrating Canada’s highest honour in the performing arts!  The event starts with a pre-show reception including complimentary wine and light canapés while you await the red carpet arrivals.  The awards tribute performance celebrating the 2019 laureates begins in Southam Hall at 8:00pm and features incredible guest performances and touching tributes.  Complimentary wine is offered during intermission.  The party continues post-show with a live band, dancing, and cash bar. Recommended dress is black tie and long dress/cocktail dress.

Your ticket includes:

6:30pm: Wine and light canapés
7:00pm: Red carpet arrivals
8:00pm: Tribute performance
10:30pm: Air Canada After Party with live band and cash bar


Louise Bessette, Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award – Classical Music

Colm Feore, Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award –Film

Rick Mercer, Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award – Broadcasting

Lorraine Pintal, Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award – Theatre

Mavis Staines, Lifetime Artistic Achievement Award – Dance

E. Noël Spinelli, 2019 Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Voluntarism in the Performing Arts

Sandra Oh, 2019 National Arts Centre Award

Alanis Obomsawin, 2019 Mentorship Program Mentor

Gop Bartibogue, 2019 Mentorship Program Protégé

For more information on the awards, please visit

Follow the action: @GovGPAA  #ggawards

2019 recipient: Sandra Oh © James White
2019 recipient: Colm Feore © Ann Baggley
2019 recipient: Rick Mercer © Jon Sturge
2019 recipient: Lorraine Pintal © François Gratton
2019 recipient: Louise Bessette © Étienne Bergeron
2019 recipient: Mavis Staines © Johan Persson
2019 recipient: E. Noël Spinelli © Vadim Daniel
2019 recipient: Alanis Obomsawin, Mentorship Program Mentor
2019 recipient: Gop Bartibogue, Mentorship Program Protégé