Governor General Performing Arts Awards: Shining the spotlight on this year’s laureates

Sarah McLachlan © Kharen Hill
Atom-egoyan-c-tina rowden
Atom Egoyan © Tina Rowden
Walter Boudreau © DNV Photographie
Diana Leblanc © V. Tony Hauser
R.H. Thomson © Michael Cooper
Jean-Marc Vallée © Neil Mota
Michael M. Koerner © Gary Beechey, BDS Studios

Montreal—Winners of the Governor General Performing Arts Awards were announced at a news conference at the PHI Centre in Montreal. The 2015 laureates for the highest honour in the performing arts in Canada are:

Walter Boudreau, C.M.
Composer, conductor and artistic director

Atom Egoyan, O.C.
Film and stage director, visual artist and screenwriter

Diana Leblanc
Actress and director

Sarah McLachlan, O.C.
Singer, songwriter, musician and humanitarian

R.H. Thomson, C.M.
Actor, director, producer and arts advocate

Jean-Marc Vallée
Filmmaker, recipient of the NAC Award, which recognizes exceptional achievement over the past performance year.

Michael M. Koerner, C.M.
Winner of the Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Voluntarism in the Performing Arts

The 2015 laureates were announced via live stream at events in Montreal, Victoria, Vancouver and Toronto. The NAC will host a gala celebration to mark the outstanding contribution of these artists on Saturday, May 30 in Southam Hall. Tickets are available here.

Join our email list for the latest updates!