East Coast Music Association Receives NAC Award for Distinguished Contribution to Touring

The National Arts Centre (NAC) is pleased to announce that the East Coast Music Association (ECMA) has been awarded the 2017 National Arts Centre Award for Distinguished Contribution to Touring in the Performing Arts.

The ECMA is being recognized for its long-standing commitment to promoting touring by musicians from Atlantic Canada, both at home and abroad.  The award was presented at the opening reception of the Canadian Arts Presenting Association’s (CAPACOA) annual conference on Wednesday, November 15 at the National Arts Centre.

For the past 30 years, the ECMA has been a catalyst, bringing music industry representatives from all over the world to the East Coast to discover both established and emerging musicians.   By doing so, the association has helped build a robust regional and professional music industry in Atlantic Canada. 

Each year, it produces the East Coast Music Awards: Festival and Conference, a five-day, non-stop musical celebration showcasing and recognizing the best of East Coast artists and music. This internationally recognized event is one of Canada’s premiere music gatherings for both the public and for music industry professionals. 

“The ECMA is deeply honoured to receive this award,” said Dean Stairs, Chair of the ECMA Board of Directors.  “The Export Program of the ECMA Festival and Conference has been integral to the career development of musicians from all parts of the Atlantic region. In many ways, we consider it the crown jewel of what we do as an organization. Our Export Manager, Shelley Nordstrom, has been both the catalyst and the driving force behind the program for many years. Her vision and energy has shaped the program and allowed it to grow to become a premier event for buyers and industry delegates from all over the world.  This award from the National Arts Centre and CAPACOA is both inspiring and encouraging to all of us at the ECMA”

Established in 1992 in collaboration with the Canadian Arts Presenting Association (CAPACOA), the National Arts Centre Award for Distinguished Contribution to Touring honours exceptional achievement in fostering the touring of live performing arts in Canada.  The recipient is chosen from nominations solicited from within the industry and is selected by a committee composed of presenters, artists, administrators, the National Arts Centre and CAPACOA.  The recipient may be an individual, performing company, corporation or other organization. For more information about CAPACOA, please visit www.capacoa.ca.

The Award for Distinguished Contribution to Touring consists of $2,500 and a specially designed porcelain sculpture by Paula Murray, one of Canada’s finest ceramic artists.    

Previous recipients include Paul Tanguay (2016), Norman Armour (2015), Tafelmusik (2014), Alain Paré (2013), Peter Feldman (2012), Ballet Jörgen Canada (2011), La danse sur les routes du Québec (2010), Uriel Luft (2009), the Organization of Saskatchewan Arts Councils (2008), Judy Harquail (2007), Ottie Lockey (2006), Colin McIntyre (2005), CBC Radio/la radio de Radio-Canada (2004), Debut Atlantic (2003), Richard Stoker (2002), Nicholas Goldschmidt (2001), Bruce Owen (2000), the Royal Winnipeg Ballet (1999), David Haber (1998), Dr. Elmer Iseler (1997), Jean-Paul Gagnon (1996), Hugh Davidson (1995), Mark Porteous (1994), George Zukerman (1993), and CAPACOA (1992).

CAPACOA is a federally incorporated, non-profit pan-Canadian organization serving the performing arts touring and presenting field. The National Arts Centre is Canada’s pre-eminent showcase for the performing arts and the catalyst for the performing arts nationally. The National Arts Centre is home to the internationally acclaimed National Arts Centre Orchestra, and is a leader in the presentation of: classical music, dance, English and French theatre, variety and community programming.

- 30 –


Mélanie Bureau
Operations Manager

Carl Martin
Senior Advisor, Communications
National Arts Centre
613 947-7000, ext 560

Join our email list for the latest updates!