This livestream is no longer on sale

Ehnes and Beethoven’s Fifth

with the NAC Orchestra

Music Classical music
  • NAC Orchestra

  Sep 18 - Oct 9, 2021   90 minutes with no intermission.

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 5 CAMILLE SAINT-SAËNS Introduction and Rondo capriccioso in A minor for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 28 Lili Boulanger Nocturne for Violin and Orchestra, arr. Sarah Slean JESSIE MONTGOMERY Strum SARASATE Zigeunerweisen for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 20 (Gypsy Airs)

Beethoven’s glorious Symphony No. 5 is music that gets under your skin, still inspiring and delighting more than two centuries after its first performance in 1808.

NACO Artist-in-Residence, James Ehnes, returns to Southam Hall to perform Camille Saint-Saëns’s spirited Introduction and Rondo capriccioso, boldly commissioned at age 15 by violin prodigy Pablo de Sarasate. Then James embraces Lili Boulanger’s delicately tender and sweet Nocturne, originally written for violin and piano, and arranged specially for this performance by the incomparable Sarah Slean.

Next, Jessie Montgomery’s Strum, for string orchestra, explodes with spirit and life, borrowing from American folk idioms to create a nostalgic narrative that turns to colourful celebration. James Ehnes closes the program with  Sarasate’s own Zigeunerweisen, by turns melodramatic and devil-may-care.

Please note the earlier start time of 6:00 PM. 

This livestream performance will be available as a ticketed Video on Demand, and will be available for ticket buyers to re-watch, until October 9, 2021.


  • Featuring NAC Orchestra
  • Conductor Alexander Shelley
  • james-ehnes
    Violin James Ehnes
  • saint-saeyns-circa-1880-public-domain
    Composer Camille Saint-Saëns
  • lili-boulanger-1er-grand-prix-entier
    Composer Lili Boulanger
  • montgomery-jessie-copy
    Composer Jessie Montgomery
  • pablo-de-sarasate-public-domain
    Composer Pablo de Sarasate

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers