Angela Hewitt’s The Bach Odyssey

Dominion-Chalmers United Church 355 Cooper St, Ottawa
This event has passed

NAC Co-production

Complete performance dates to be confirmed.

July 2017 NAC Southam Hall performance tickets on sale date to be confirmed.

In The Bach Odyssey, Angela Hewitt will explore J.S. Bach’s complete keyboard works in 12 recitals over the course of four years. The National Arts Centre Orchestra in partnership with Ottawa Chamber Music Society (Chamberfest) will offer these recitals alongside London’s Wigmore Hall, The 92nd Street Y in New York City, and at other locations around the world including Tokyo and Florence for this extremely ambitious concert series.

Hewitt will lend her distinctive voice, remarkable colour, and sparkling clarity to her performances in Ottawa, the first of which – Recitals I & II – will take place in March 2017 at Dominion-Chalmers United Church, as part of the Chamberfest Concert Series. In July 2017, she will perform Recital III, in Southam Hall, as part of Canada Scene. 

During the 2017/18 Season, Hewitt will perform Recital IV as part of the NAC Orchestra’s Great Performers Series in Southam Hall, with the two following recitals to be presented in July/August 2018 as part of Chamberfest’s annual international summer festival.

The Bach Odyssey Recital Details:
Angela Hewitt, piano
The keyboard works of J.S. Bach in twelve recitals

Recital I *(To be performed as part of the Chamberfest Concert Series Thursday, March 16, 2017)
Fantasia in C minor, BWV 906
Aria Variata “alla Maniera Italiana”, BWV 989
Fifteen Two-part Inventions, BWV 772-786
Fifteen Three-part Sinfonias (Inventions),
BWV 787-801
Capriccio on the Departure of his Beloved Brother,
BWV 992
Capriccio in E major, BWV 993
Fantasia and Fugue in A minor, BWV 904

Recital II *(To be performed as part of the Chamberfest Concert Series Saturday, March 18, 2017)
French Suite No. 1 in D minor, BWV 812
French Suite No. 2 in C minor BWV 813
French Suite No. 4 in E-flat major, BWV 815
French Suite No. 6 in E major, BWV 817
French Suite No. 3 in B minor, BWV 814
French Suite No. 5 in G major, WV 816

Recital III (To be performed at the NAC in Southam Hall, as part of the Canada Scene Festival July 2017)
Partita No. 1 in B-flat major, BWV 825
Partita No. 2 in C minor, BWV 826
Sonata in D minor, BWV 964
Partita No. 4 in D major, BWV 828

Recital IV
Partita No. 3 in A minor, BWV 827
Partita No. 5 in G major, BWV 829
Partie in A major, BWV 832
Partita No. 6 in E minor, BWV 830

Recital V
The Well-Tempered Clavier Book I
Nos. 1-12
Nos. 13-24

Recital VI
The Goldberg Variations

Recital VII
The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book II
Nos. 1-12
Nos. 13-24

Recital VIII
Toccata in C minor, BWV 911
Toccata in G major, BWV 916
Toccata in F-sharp minor, BWV 910
Toccata in E minor, BWV 914
Toccata in D minor, BWV 913
Toccata in G minor, BWV 915
Toccata in D major, BWV 912
Chromatic Fantasy and Fugue in D minor,
BWV 903

Recital IX
English Suite No. 1 in A major, BWV 806
English Suite No. 2 in A minor, BWV 807
Suite in F minor, BWV 823
English Suite No. 3 in G minor, BWV 808
Prelude and Fugue in A minor, BWV 894

Recital X
English Suite No. 4 in F major, BWV 809
English Suite No. 5 in E minor, BWV 810
Sonata in D major, BWV 963
English Suite No. 6 in D minor, BWV 811

Recital XI
Four Duets, BWV 802-805
Eighteen Little Preludes, BWV 924-928,
930, 933-938, 939-943, 999
Fantasia and Fugue in A minor, BWV 944
Italian Concerto in F major, BWV 971
French Overture in B minor, BWV 831

Recital XII
The Art of Fugue