Red carpet moments with 2016 GG Award recipients

The Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards (GGPAA) for Lifetime Artistic Achievement are Canada’s highest honour for the performing arts.

This year's recipients are film producer Robert Lantos, singer-songwriter Susan Aglukark, choreographer Marie Chouinard, tenor Ben Heppner and  playwright Susanne Lebeau. Grammy and Juno Award-winning singer Michael Bublé will receive the National Arts Centre Award ( to be awarded in 2017). The Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Voluntarism in the Performing Arts will be awarded to John D McKellar. 

The Governor General's Performing Arts Awards provide a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the artists that have helped shape us as Canadians. "This life is not lived without acknowledging the history of the Inuit people which is a beautiful place to write from" said singer-songwriter Susan Aglukark. "So I wouldn't have that music without that history."

Related events

Join our email list for the latest updates!