NAC Orchestra

in Our Time

2022 Tour

Music Classical music New works

Philip Glass © Andreas Bitesnich

The NAC Orchestra 2022 Tour is making stops in Toronto, New York, and Ottawa:

Canada's National Arts Centre Orchestra and Alexander Shelley explore the theme of "Truth in Our Time" with the premiere of Philip Glass's Symphony No. 13, a meditation on truth and how it is told, commissioned by the Orchestra as a tribute to Canadian-born journalist Peter Jennings. Works by Korngold and Shostakovich offer defiant statements toward authoritarian regimes. The tour showcases brilliant Canadian artists Nicole Lizée, James Ehnes (NYC & Ottawa) and Blake Pouliot (Toronto).

Mr. Jennings was not only a highly respected news anchor for ABC News, he was also a trustee of Carnegie Hall during his years in New York City, the founding director of the American chapter of Friends of the NAC Orchestra, and served as a lifelong champion of Canadian artists.

"The most talked about Canadian classical music event of the year." —The Globe & Mail

"As the saying goes, expect the unexpected." —Toronto Star

"Une ode à la liberté de la presse." —Le Devoir

Upcoming events

Past events


  • NAC Orchestra
  • dscf9130-curtis-perry-2-cropped
    Music Director, NAC Orchestra Alexander Shelley
  • Composer Philip Glass
  • james-ehnes
    Violin James Ehnes
  • pouliot-main-2022claurenhurt-02-cropped
    Violin Blake Pouliot
  • Concertmaster, NAC Orchestra Yosuke Kawasaki
  • Special Guest YAO
  • nl-2020-lam0134-crop
    Composer Nicole Lizée

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers