Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend
Explore the Symphony

Carl Nielsen’s De fire Temperamenter

English Mar 06, 2020 51:11 Download

About the episode

Jean-Jacques Van Vlasselaer and Marjolaine Fournier study The Four Temperaments, the second symphony by Carl Nielsen. The hosts find this Danish composer a little enigmatic and difficult to reach. They explore the world around him at the time of this composition, and talk about his music in that context. Find out how he lived his life, allowed his wife to pursue a career, and gave orchestral musicians a little something to talk about.
Music Excerpts:
NIELSON Symphony No. 2 The Four Temperaments II. Allegro comodo e flammatico
Danish National Radio Symphony

Nielsen: Commotio, Op. 58, FS 155
Organ Recital: John, Keith