May 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Mentorship in Action: a free event with actress, playwright and dancer Anita Majumdar, hosted by Ottawa actor Andy Massingham on June 1 in the NAC Fourth Stage

OTTAWA—The National Arts Centre is delighted to invite members of the public to attend a free event called Mentorship in Action, on Saturday, June 1 from 1- 2 p.m. in the NAC Fourth Stage.


Join 2013 GGPAA Mentorship Program protegée Anita Majumdar for a midday discussion on this important subject in the arts.  Questions addressed include: what does mentorship mean to artists? How does it feature in their life? In the theatre, mentorship is a central tenet of growing one's practice. Is it a two-way street? Who mentors whom? And what are some of the practical outcomes of mentorship in the work of theatre artists?


Associate Artistic Director for English Theatre Sarah Garton Stanley looks forward to welcoming an assortment of Ottawa talent: the talk will be hosted by Ottawa actor Andy Massingham, and also features local theatre artists Pierre Brault, Patrick Gauthier, Jan Irwin and Colleen Sutton.


The 2013 GGPAA Mentorship Program is a partnership between the GGPAA Foundation, the National Arts Centre and the Banff Centre and is made possible with support from The Keg Spirit Foundation. The Mentorship Program is designed to benefit a talented early- to mid-career artist, and brings together a past GGPAA recipient with a next-generation artist who has the opportunity to share, learn and grow from the experience and insight of their mentor. The Program serves as a catalyst and an investment in future Canadian artistic achievement. The 2013 Mentorship Program mentor who will be working with Anita Majumdar is Canadian playwright John Murrell.


This is a free event but space is limited.







Created in 1992, the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards are Canada’s highest honour for the performing arts. This year’s laureates for Lifetime Artistic Achievement are Andrew Dawes, Daniel Lanois, Jean Pierre Lefebvre, Viola Leger, Eric Peterson and Menaka Thakkar. Two other distinguished national awards are also conferred each year as complements to the GGPAA for lifetime artistic achievement. This year Jean Pierre Desrosiers will receive the Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Voluntarism in the Performing Arts, while Sarah Polley is the recipient of the National Arts Centre Award, which recognizes exceptional achievement over the past performance year. This year’s Mentorship Program, which serves as an investment in future artistic achievement, pairs playwright and past laureate John Murrell with mid-career actress, dancer and playwright Anita Majumdar as his protégée.


The National Arts Centre is proud to produce the 2013 Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards Gala in partnership with the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards Foundation and the National Film Board of Canada. The Awards are presented with the support of the Department of Canadian Heritage and the Canada Council for the Arts.

The GGPAAF gratefully acknowledges Enbridge as Presenting Sponsor of the GGPAA Gala.  

The GGPAA Gala is made possible in part by its many sponsors. In particular, the National Arts Centre Foundation would like to thank Associate Sponsors McDonald’s Restaurants of Canada Ltd. for their support of the Inspiration Seats youth section and Manulife Financial for its support as our Dinner Sponsor. For the fifth year, Mentorship Program is supported by The Keg Spirit Foundation. National Partners are Aimia, Desjardins Group, Onex Corporation, Scotiabank, and Weber Shandwick Worldwide, and The Printing House is our official Print Sponsor. The GGPAAF also acknowledges the significant contributions of Regional Partners Accenture Canada, The Alvin Segal Family Foundation, The Banff Centre, Bell Media, BMO Financial Group, Cineplex Media, Cisco Systems Canada Inc., Globalive Communications Corp., Groupe Germain, Invesco, The Keg Steakhouse and Bar, NBC Universal Canada, Norton Rose LLP, Pearl Family, Pratt & Whitney Canada, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, Rogers Communications Inc., Shangri‑La Hotels, Vale, Venture Communications Ltd and Via Rail Canada. Impresario Partners include Aecon Group Inc., Barrick Gold Corporation, Birks, Cement Association of Canada, EQ3 Furniture for Life, Holt Renfrew & Company, Jessiman Foundation, KPMG LLP, The Ledcor Group, Mackenzie Investments, Macquarie Capital Markets Canada Ltd., Mark Motors of Ottawa Ltd., PCL Constructors Canada Inc., Raymond James Ltd., Sun Life Financial, Temple Scott and Associates, and Trinity Development Group Inc.. Additional in-kind support for the Awards is received from Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP, ecentricarts, Llama Communications, The Royal Canadian Mint, The Westin Ottawa, and media partners The Globe and Mail, The Ottawa Citizen, Clear Channel, The Hill Times and Embassy Magazine, and Le Droit.

Grateful thanks also go to the GGPAA Gala’s National Committee of volunteers, led by Honorary Chair The Hon. Hilary M. Weston, CM, OOnt of Toronto; Co-Chairs Susan Glass, CM, and Arni Thorsteinson of Winnipeg;  and Vice-Chair Kate Alexander Daniels of Toronto. 

Tickets for the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards Gala on Saturday, June 1, 2013 are available at the NAC Box Office and through Ticketmaster, 1-888-991-2787 or at