Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend

National Arts Centre Orchestra Principal Cello Amanda Forsyth shines in Boccherini's Cello Concerto, the inaugural Mark Motors Audi Signature Series concert on October 10-11

OTTAWA, October 2, 2012 The first Mark Motors Audi Signature Series concert of the NAC Orchestra’s 2012-2013 season -- conducted by Music Director Pinchas Zukerman -- features music by Mozart and Schumann, as well as Principal Cello Amanda Forsyth Boccherini’s highly expressive Cello Concerto. The concert is at 8 p.m. in the National Arts Centre’s Southam Hall on Wednesday October 10 and Thursday October 11, 2012.

Boccherini’s Cello Concerto – October 10-11

MOZART        Symphony No. 25 in G minor, K. 183/173 dB
BOCCHERINI             Cello Concerto in B-flat major, G.482
SCHUMANN   Symphony No. 2 in C major, Op. 61

  • Acclaimed as both soloist and chamber musician, Amanda Forsyth is a JUNO Award-winning Canadian cellist who has appeared with orchestras throughout the world. Daughter of composer Malcolm Forsyth, Amanda is the wife of Music Director Pinchas Zukerman. She is also a founding member of the Zukerman ChamberPlayers, which has toured worldwide since 2003
  • Mozart’s rather short Symphony No. 25 was written in 1773. It was supposedly completed a mere two days after the completion of his Symphony No. 24, although this remains unsubstantiated. Its first movement is widely known as the opening music in Miloš Forman’s 1984 film Amadeus
  • Cello Concerto in B-flat major by Boccherini (1743-1805) is an arrangement by Friedrich Grutzmacher published in 1895, drawing inspiration and theme from one of Boccherini’s cello sonatas and a concerto in G major. It’s a fascinating composition story, with a warm, lyrical result.
  • Symphony No. 2 by German composer Robert Schumann (1810-1856) was published in 1847. The symphony was sketched in 1845, but his depression and poor health prevented him finishing the work until October 1846. In the face of this adversity the uplifting tone of the symphony is remarkable. The work can be seen as a Beethovenian triumph over fate/pessimism.

7 p.m. Pre-Concert Chat (in English): Maurizio Ortolani, “Connecting Through Technology”

Boccherini’s Cello Concerto will be performed in Southam Hall of the National Arts Centre on Wednesday October 10 and Thursday October 11, 2012 at 8 p.m. Tickets are $22, $32, $44, $50, $65, $75, and $95, for adults and $12.50, $17.50, $23.50, $26.50, $34, $39, and $49 for students (upon presentation of a valid student ID card). Tickets are available at the NAC Box Office (in person) and through Ticketmaster (with surcharges) at 1-888-991-2787 (ARTS); Ticketmaster may also be accessed through the NAC’s website

Subject to availability, full-time students (aged 13-29) with valid Trinity Live Rush™ membership (free registration at may buy up to 2 tickets per performance at the discount price of $12 per ticket. Tickets are available online ( or at the NAC box office from 10 a.m. on the day before the performance until 6 p.m. on the day of the show or 2 hours before a matinee. Groups of 10 or more save 15% to 20% off regular ticket prices to all NAC Music, Theatre and Dance performances; to reserve your seats, call 613-947-7000, ext. 634 or e-mail

For additional information, visit the NAC website at


Free online streaming concerts -- the National Arts Centre Orchestra is now just a click away!

Be entertained, inspired, transported, transformed, deeply moved … or all of the above.

NAC Orchestra ‘Concerts on Demand’ -- the first such feature of its kind, anywhere in the world –

is available 24 hours a day/7 days a week and features uninterrupted, commercial-free performances

by the NAC Orchestra and acclaimed guest artists.

Each concert includes program notes and biographies of the artists.

10 concerts are currently available, and 7-10 new concerts per season will be added.

Concerts will be posted online within 10 days of the performance.


—     30 —

Andrea Hossack
Communications Officer, NAC Music
613-947-7000, ext. 335