News Release

Joyce Yang replaces Yuja Wang in the National Arts Centre Orchestra’s Rachmaninov’s Rhapsody concerts on May 25-26

May 24, 2011

Piano sensation Joyce Yang replaces Yuja Wang -- who has had to cancel due to illness -- in Rachmaninov’s Rhapsody, the fifth Ovation Series concerts of the NAC’s 2010-2011 season. The concert features conductor Thomas Dausgaard, Ms. Yang performing Rachmaninov’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Symphony No. 1 by Jean Sibelius, and A Freak in Burbank by Swedish composer Albert Schnelzer. The concerts are at 8 p.m. in Southam Hall on May 25 and 26, 2011.

Critically acclaimed as “the most gifted young pianist of her generation” with a “million-volt stage presence,” pianist Joyce Yang has captivated audiences around the globe with her stunning virtuosity combined with heartfelt lyricism and interpretive sensitivity. Just twenty-four, she has established herself as one of the leading artists of her generation through her innovative solo recitals and notable collaborations with the world’s top orchestras. In 2010 she was awarded an Avery Fisher Career Grant, one of the most prestigious prizes in classical music.

Born in Seoul, Korea, Ms. Yang received her first piano lesson at age four. In 1997, she moved to the United States to begin studies at The Juilliard School in New York with Dr. Yoheved Kaplinsky. She recently graduated with special honour, as the recipient of the 2010 Arthur Rubinstein Prize.

In June 2005, Ms. Yang came to international attention when she became the Silver Medalist of the 12th Van Cliburn International Competition. As the youngest contestant, Ms. Yang swept two additional awards as an all-around winner, receiving the Steven De Groote Memorial Award for Best Performance of Chamber Music with the Takàcs Quartet, and the Beverley Taylor Smith Award for Best Performance of a New Work. Ms. Yang has flourished into an “astonishing artist” (Neue Zürcher Zeitung), giving ground breaking debuts all across the world.  In just a few short years, Ms. Yang has become a household name in various high-profile venues, such as Lincoln Center and the Kennedy Center. In November of 2006, Ms. Yang made her celebrated New York Philharmonic debut with Lorin Maazel at Avery Fisher Hall and performed on their Asian tour, making a triumphant return to South Korea. Ms. Yang has been continually engaged as a recitalist and by orchestras across the U.S. and abroad.

Joyce Yang is featured in In the Heart of Music, the film documentary about the 2005 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. Her debut disc, distributed by harmonia mundi usa, includes live performances of works by Bach, Liszt, Scarlatti, and the Australian composer Carl Vine.  A Steinway Artist since2008, she currently resides in New York City.

Rachmaninov’s Rhapsody will be performed in Southam Hall of the National Arts Centre on Wednesday May 25 and Thursday May 26, 2011 at 8 p.m. Tickets start at $20.45 for adults and $11.38 for students. Tickets are available at the NAC Box Office (in person) and through Ticketmaster (with surcharges) at 1-888-991-2787; Ticketmaster may also be accessed through the NAC’s website

Subject to availability, full-time students (aged 13-29) with valid Live Rush™ membership (free registration at may buy up to 2 tickets per performance at the discount price of $12 per ticket. Tickets are available online ( or at the NAC box office from 10 a.m. on the day before the performance until 6 p.m. on the day of the show or 2 hours before a matinee. Groups of 10 or more save 15% to 20% off regular ticket prices to all NAC Music, Theatre and Dance performances; to reserve your seats, call 613-947-7000, ext. 634 or e-mail

For information, visit the NAC website at

- 30 -

Gerald Morris
Communications Officer, NAC Music
613-947-7000, ext. 335