Patricia O’Callaghan’s Christmas Concert

NAC Studio

NAC Studio

[x] Close

Max Telzerow

Max Telzerow

Andrew MacNaughtan

NAC Presentation

Patricia O'Callaghan is something of a wandering minstrel. Her fifteen-year career has taken her across genres, continents, and a range of disciplines and passions. She returns to the NAC with a new holiday album "Deepest December" released on Oct. 23. The new album is full of wonderful gems, from 15th century French carols to freshly minted originals. Patricia wrote the title track with Canadian poet Dennis Lee! Andrew Downing wrote the haunting and unique arrangements for a band that ranges from hurdy gurdy to lap steel guitar.

Her recording career spans five solo albums and many interesting visits along the way as a guest on other artists' CDs. A speaker of French, Spanish, and German, her early recordings focused on European cabaret, and she is considered a specialist, most significantly, in the music of Kurt Weill. Patricia has performed his Threepenny Opera, Seven Deadly Sins, and Kleine Mahagonny with Soulpepper Theatre Company, Edmonton Opera, and Vancouver Opera, to name a few.

One of Patricia's most unique talents is the ability blend a variety of languages and musical genres seamlessly together in her concerts, and completely embody whatever style she is singing at any given moment.

She has sung with some of the world's great ensembles and artists (Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, Don Byron Quartet, Bryn Terfel), and has performed in venues that range from London's Royal Opera House to New York's Soho cabaret Le Poisson Rouge.

Patricia also writes and co-writes songs and has had the honor of premiering many new compositions, from both the classical and pop worlds. It has been her great privilege to work with such creators as R. Murray Schafer, Dennis Lee, Christos Hatzis, George Aperghis, Steve Reich, and Steven Page, to name a few.

Her most recent recording/touring projects are Broken Hearts and Madmen; a collaboration with The Gryphon Trio, which blends classical music with traditional songs from Latin America and pop songs from around the world.

"This Toronto soprano can sing a 100-year-old German tune so lustily that you almost don't need a translation to know that someone's about to get his throat cut or get laid or both."
-The National Post


  • Carol of the Bells ~ Patricia O'Callaghan

  • Patricia O'Callaghan - Riverman by Nick Drake

Artist Links

Le Noël de Patricia O’Callaghan

Studio du CNA

Studio du CNA

[x] Fermer

Max Telzerow

Max Telzerow

Andrew MacNaughtan

Présentation du CNA

Patricia O’Callaghan fait penser aux ménestrels, ces musiciens ambulants du Moyen Âge. En 15 ans de carrière, l’artiste, qui parle le français, l’anglais et l’allemand , a arpenté bien des genres musicaux et des continents, et cultivé en chemin bien des passions.

Elle compte à son actif cinq albums solos, à quoi s’ajoutent des collaborations à de nombreux opus d’autres artistes. Ses premiers enregistrements empruntent surtout au style Cabaret européen; Patricia est d’ailleurs considérée comme une spécialiste du genre, et plus particulièrement de la musique de Kurt Weill. Elle a tenu des rôles dans trois de ses œuvres musicales – L’Opéra de Quat’Sous, Les Sept péchés capitaux  et Kleine Mahagonny – avec la Soulpepper Theatre Company, l’Edmonton Opera et le Vancouver Opera, pour ne nommer que quelques compagnies.

Parmi la liste des talents singuliers de l’artiste figure cette capacité de marier les langues et les genres musicaux le plus harmonieusement du monde en concert, et de se fondre littéralement dans le style de musique qu’elle est en train d’interpréter.

Patricia a chanté aux côtés de quelques-uns des plus grands artistes et ensembles du monde (Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, Don Byron Quartet, Bryn Terfel), et s’est produite dans des salles aussi prestigieuses que la Royal Opera House de Londres et le cabaret Le Poisson Rouge, dans le quartier Soho à New York.

Elle a aussi écrit et coécrit des chansons, et s’est vu accorder l’honneur de créer de nombreuses compositions classiques et populaires. C’est ainsi qu’elle a eu l’immense privilège de travailler avec quantité de créateurs dont R. Murray Schafer, Dennis Lee, Christos Hatzis, George Aperghis, Steve Reich et Steven Page.

Au nombre de ses plus récents projets d’enregistrement et de tournée figure une collaboration avec le Gryphon Trio pour Broken Hearts & Madmen, album qui mélange la musique classique avec des chansons traditionnelles latino-américaines et des chansons pop du monde entier.

« Cette soprano torontoise peut chanter une chanson allemande vieille de 100 ans avec tellement de conviction qu’on n’a pas besoin de traduction pour savoir que quelqu’un est sur le point de se faire trancher la gorge, de baiser, ou les deux. » – The National Post

Vidéos

  • Carol of the Bells ~ Patricia O'Callaghan

  • Patricia O'Callaghan - Riverman par Nick Drake

Liens artiste

Menu