Canada Day 2016: Parking garage open. Free concert in the park… >>

Un vent se lève qui éparpille

NAC Studio

NAC Studio

© Angelo Barsetti

© TNO

NAC Co-production

Approximately 1 hour 40 minutes with no intermission.

February 12 with english surtitles.

Winner of the 2000 Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction, Jean Marc Dalpé’s novel Un vent se lève qui éparpille (Scattered in a Rising Wind) introduces a ragged chorus of troubled voices. Geneviève Pineault stages her own adaptation of a raw and compelling tale whose characters are driven by passion, desire and hatred.


Jean Marc Dalpé received the Governor General’s Literary Award for Drama in 1998, for Le chien, and again in 1999 for his play anthology Il n’y a que l’amour. In 2000 he scored a hat trick when he received the prestigious award a third time, for his debut novel Un vent se lève qui éparpille (Scattered in a Rising Wind). In this tragic tale with Faulknerian overtones, Dalpé interweaves a multiplicity of troubled voices, mingling French and English in a hybrid tongue both rough and sophisticated. Those voices belong to Marie, Marcel, Joseph and Rose. Fanned by passion, desire and hatred, their seething emotions drive them to commit murder, suicide and incest. In the harsh setting of a working-class mining town in Northern Ontario, the inhabitants seem crushed by the burden of a fate as inexorable as the outcome of a Greek tragedy.

Director Geneviève Pineault was captivated by this shattering tale from the moment she first read it, shortly after she became artistic director of the Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario. Struck by the novel’s poetic, dramatic and imaginative style, she determined to adapt it for the stage, together with fellow dramaturgs Johanne Melançon and Alice Ronfard. Performed by an exceptional six-member cast, this new production reunites Pineault with Jean Marc Dalpé: the two have collaborated previously on two plays by Mansel Robinson, SLAGUE – l’histoire d’un mineur and II (deux).

Credits

  • WITH David Boutin, Roch Castonguay, Annick Léger, Robert Marinier, Milva Ménard and Bryan Morneau
Learn More:

Dramaturgs: Geneviève Pineault, Johanne Melançon and Alice Ronfard
Assistant director and stage manager: Diane Fortin
Sets: Gabriel Tsampalieros
Lighting: André Rioux
Music: Marcel Aymar
Costumes: Isabelle Bélisle
Produced by: Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario, Théâtre de la Vieille 17 and NAC French Theatre

Media Partners
Logo le-droit
Ici radio canada
Menu

Un vent se lève qui éparpille

Studio du CNA

Studio du CNA

© Angelo Barsetti

© TNO

Coproduction du CNA

Durée approximative de 1 heure 40 minutes sans entracte.

Le 12 février avec surtitres anglais.

Prix du Gouverneur général en 2000, le roman de Jean Marc Dalpé Un vent se lève qui éparpille emporte une multiplicité de voix en déroute. Geneviève Pineault adapte pour la scène ce récit somptueux et rocailleux, dont les émotions à fleur de peau des personnages sont attisées par la passion, le désir et la haine.


En 1988, Jean Marc Dalpé reçoit le Prix du Gouverneur général en théâtre pour Le chien, puis en 1999 pour son recueil de pièces Il n’y a que l’amour. En 2000, il réussit le tour de force de rafler de nouveau la prestigieuse récompense avec son premier roman, Un vent se lève qui éparpille. Dans ce récit aux accents tragiques et au titre faulknérien, l’auteur emporte une multiplicité de voix en déroute dans un français métissé d’anglais, à la fois brut et sophistiqué. Ces voix, ce sont celles de Marie, de Marcel, de Joseph et de Rose. Attisées par la passion, le désir et la haine, leurs émotions à fleur de peau les conduisent à commettre meurtre, suicide et inceste. Dans le milieu défavorisé des travailleurs d’une petite ville minière du Nord de l’Ontario, chacun semble plier sous le joug d’un destin aussi inexorable que celui des tragédies grecques.

La metteure en scène Geneviève Pineault est bouleversée par ce récit fracassant depuis qu’elle l’a découvert en arrivant à la barre du Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario. C’est le style à la fois poétique, théâtral et romanesque de cette œuvre qui la convainc de la porter à la scène avec la complicité de Johanne Melançon et Alice Ronfard à la dramaturgie. Défendue par six interprètes investis, cette nouvelle production lui fait retrouver le chemin de Jean Marc Dalpé, avec qui elle a collaboré pour deux pièces de Mansel Robinson, SLAGUE – l’histoire d’un mineur et II (deux).

crédits

  • AVEC David Boutin, Roch Castonguay, Annick Léger, Robert Marinier, Milva Ménard et Bryan Morneau
En savoir plus :

Dramaturgie : Geneviève Pineault, Johanne Melançon et Alice Ronfard
Assistance à la mise en scène et régie : Diane Fortin
Scénographie : Gabriel Tsampalieros
Lumière : André Rioux
Musique : Marcel Aymar
Costumes : Isabelle Bélisle
Production : Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario, Théâtre de la Vieille 17 et Théâtre français du CNA

Média partenaires
Logo le-droit
Ici radio canada
Menu