Canada Day 2016: Parking garage open. Free concert in the park. More details »

Ballet BC

16 + a room, Solo Echo, Bill

NAC Theatre

NAC Theatre

[x] Close

16 + a room - Artists of Ballet BC

Photo: © Michael Slobodian

16 + a room - Artists of Ballet BC

Photo: © Michael Slobodian

Rachel Meyer and Scott Fowler

Photo: © Michael Slobodian

Creating ambitious new works from the world’s most celebrated choreographers, Ballet BC is a leader in the creation and production of contemporary dance in Canada. Under the artistic direction of Emily Molnar­ – former member of The National Ballet of Canada, Ballet BC and Frankfurt Ballet – the Company actively fosters collaborative and creation-based ballet.  Bold and innovative, their distinctive style and approach furthers the boundaries of contemporary dance, and has been rewarded with significant international touring and critical acclaim.

At CDF 2016 they will perform a mixed program including: Emily Molnar’s 16 + a roomSolo Echo, choreographed by Crystal Pite; and Sharon Eyal’s Bill.

In 16 + a room, Emily Molnar, Ballet BC’s Artistic Director, has created a dynamic world for 16 dancers set to a driving musical landscape by German composer Dirk Haubrich. Inspired by the writings of Jeannette Winterson and Emily Dickinson, this compelling work displays Molnar’s unique choreographic language through a complex study of time, transition, and stillness, where the space between is as important as the space occupied; where one is left with the feeling of both liberty and disappearance.

Based in Vancouver, and celebrated globally, Crystal Pite explores recurring themes of acceptance and loss with Solo Echo, a work originally developed for Nederlands Dans Theater. Inspired by two sonatas for cello and piano by Brahms—creative touchstones for the artist throughout her career—and the poem “Lines for Winter” by Mark Strand, Pite continues her lifelong artistic exploration of tension and its resolution. Solo Echo moves from aggression to yearning, from the individual to the collective, travelling the pathways from conflict to acceptance.

Tel Aviv-based Sharon Eyal is one of the hottest choreographers today. Former Resident Choreographer of the Batsheva Dance Company and now Artistic Director of her own company, L-E-V, Eyal’s signature style and daring, sensual language requires of dancers an intricate and precise expression of the body. Working with frequent collaborators Gai Behar and Ori Lichtik, in Bill, Eyal combines dance, music, and design into an instantly recognizable whole of raw, unexpected beauty created with equal parts ebb and flow. Premiered by Batsheva Dance Company, Bill showcases Eyal’s trademark shifts from large group to smaller ensemble; which in turn morph into breathtaking solos.

PRESENTING SPONSOR :

Anndraya Luui

Weightless, high-speed, and mind-blowingly difficult dance.

The Georgia Straight

Witness where ballet is taking its next great leap.

Globe and Mail

Videos

  • Ballet BC

  • 16 + a room

  • Ballet BC

Credits

  • Emily Molnar Choreographer
    16 + a room
  • Sharon Eyal Choreographer
    Bill
  • Crystal Pite Choreographer
    Solo Echo

Artist Links

Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA lors du Sommet des leaders nord-américains

Ballet BC

16 + a room, Solo Echo, Bill

Théâtre du CNA

Théâtre du CNA

[x] Fermer

16 + a room - Artistes de Ballet BC

Photo : © Michael Slobodian

16 + a room - Artistes de Ballet BC

Photo : © Michael Slobodian

Rachel Meyer et Scott Fowler

Photo : © Michael Slobodian

Créateur d'œuvres ambitieuses dues aux plus brillants chorégraphes de la planète, le Ballet BC est un chef de file en matière de création et de production de danse contemporaine au Canada. Sous la direction artistique d'Emily Molnar­ – ex-membre du Ballet national du Canada, du Ballet BC et du Ballet de Francfort – la Compagnie favorise par tous les moyens les collaborations artistiques et la création en ballet. Le style distinctif et l'approche audacieuse et novatrice du Ballet BC font reculer les frontières de la danse contemporaine, et lui attirent d'importants succès critiques et de nombreuses tournées internationales.

Au FDC 2016, la compagnie présentera un programme mixte regroupant  16 + a room d'Emily Molnar, Solo Echo de Crystal Pite et Bill de Sharon Eyal.

Dans 16 + a room, Emily Molnar, directrice artistique du Ballet BC, propose un univers dynamique pour 16 danseurs sur une trame musicale entraînante du compositeur allemand Dirk Haubrich. Inspirée des écrits de Jeannette Winterson et d'Emily Dickinson, cette œuvre envoûtante met en relief le langage chorégraphique singulier d'Emily Molnar à travers une étude approfondie du temps, de la transition et de l'immobilité, où les intervalles ont autant d'importance que l'espace occupé, et où l'on éprouve une sensation de liberté et d'effacement à la fois.

Établie à Vancouver et célèbre dans le monde entier, Crystal Pite exploite les thèmes récurrents de l'acceptation et du deuil dans Solo Echo, une œuvre initialement développée pour le Nederlands Dans Theater. S'inspirant de deux sonates pour violoncelle et piano de Brahms – des musiques qui l'inspirent depuis ses débuts – et du poème « Lines for Winter » de Mark Strand, la chorégraphe poursuit l'exploration des tensions et de leur résolution qui l'a toujours animée. Solo Echo trace un périple allant de l'agression à l'espérance, du particulier au collectif, qui conduit de la confrontation à l'assentiment.

Domiciliée à Tel‑Aviv, Sharon Eyal est l'une des chorégraphes les plus en vue de la scène actuelle. Ancienne chorégraphe résidente de la Batsheva Dance Company et aujourd'hui directrice artistique de sa propre compagnie, L-E-V, elle possède un style caractéristique et un langage sensuel et hardi qui exigent des danseurs une expression subtile et précise du corps. Avec le concours de Gai Behar et Ori Lichtik, collaborateurs réguliers de la chorégraphe, Bill allie la danse, la musique et la scénographie pour produire un tout immédiatement reconnaissable par sa beauté brute, inattendue, associant à parts égales les mouvements de flux et de reflux. Créé par la Batsheva Dance Company, Bill manifeste l'aisance avec laquelle Sharon Eyal peut passer des scènes pour grands ensembles aux passages pour petits groupes de danseurs, lesquels se décomposent à leur tour pour donner de bouleversants solos.

COMMANDITAIRE PRÉSENTATEUR :

Anndraya Luui  

De la danse en apesanteur, d’une célérité et d’une complexité sidérantes.

The Georgia Straight

Découvrez où atterrira le prochain grand bond du ballet.

Globe and Mail

Vidéos

  • Ballet BC

  • 16 + a room

  • 16 + a room, Solo Echo

crédits

  • Emily Molnar Chorégraphe
    16 + a room
  • Sharon Eyal Chorégraphe
    Bill
  • Crystal Pite Chorégraphe
    Solo Echo

Liens artiste

Menu