NAC French Theatre

2021-2022 SEASON

Brigitte HAENTJENS Artistic director

Us

It’s hard to sum up in a few lines ten years, almost eleven, as artistic director of French Theatre. I have so many fleeting impressions, strong emotions, and vivid recollections that they all blur together into a single image that encompasses both the audience and the artists. 

This mandate has allowed me to work with many creators, emerging and established, from the first glimmerings of their dream to its realization. I will definitely miss this privileged access to artists, to rehearsal halls. Artistic direction is not about selecting shows from a plethora of possibilities, but rather about building relationships with artists and creating consistency over time and seasons.

For a long time now, French Theatre audiences have seen a wide range of shows, and this diversity has made them demanding and open-minded, generous and receptive. Of all the artists who have visited us, Joël Pommerat has received a particularly warm welcome. Joël has brought us four memorable productions (and a fifth will be presented in June 2022), which shows how much this great artist, a beacon of contemporary European theatre, is the “darling” of our programming and our audiences. 

I find it wonderful that artists come back, that the public gets attached to them and follows them. Marie Brassard, an artist with a fertile and intuitive imagination, remains a pillar of our seasons. She will be at the NAC in March with her newest creation, Violence.

I’m leaving French Theatre knowing that it will be in good hands, Mani’s hands; and in fact I won’t be far. I will cherish these joyful encounters, this fire exchanged and shared with the audience, the artists and the whole team. It’s all about sharing, and as I see it, theatre exists only in that exchange. To all of you, a huge thank you!!

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.

Théâtre français du CNA

SAISON 2021-2022

Brigitte HAENTJENS Directrice artistique

Nous

Difficile de résumer en quelques lignes dix ans, presque onze, à la direction artistique du Théâtre français. J’ai tant d’impressions diffuses, d’émotions fortes, de réminiscences mémorables que tout finit par se brouiller pour former une image unique qui englobe le public et les artistes. 

Ce mandat m’a autorisée à côtoyer bien des créateurs, des créatrices, débutants ou matures, des balbutiements de leur rêve jusqu’à son aboutissement. Je vais certainement regretter cet accès privilégié aux artistes, aux salles de répétitions. La direction artistique ne consiste pas à sélectionner des spectacles dans une offre pléthorique, mais plutôt à tisser des liens avec des artistes et à créer une cohérence au fil du temps et des saisons. 

Depuis longtemps, le public du Théâtre français en a vu de toutes les couleurs, cela l’a rendu exigeant et ouvert, généreux et sensible. Parmi tous les artistes qui nous ont visités, l’accueil réservé à Joël Pommerat fut extraordinaire. Joël nous aura présenté quatre spectacles mémorables (même un cinquième sera présenté en juin 2022), c’est dire combien ce grand artiste, un phare de la création contemporaine européenne, constitue le « chouchou » de la programmation et du public. 

Je trouve cela beau que les artistes reviennent, que le public s’attache à eux et les suive. Marie Brassard, cette artiste à l’imaginaire fertile et sensible, demeure un pilier de nos saisons. Elle sera au CNA en mars prochain avec sa toute nouvelle création, Violence. 

Je quitte le Théâtre français, sachant qu’il sera entre de belles mains, celles de Mani, et pour ma part, je ne serai pas très loin. Je vais garder dans mon cœur ces rencontres pleines de joie, ce feu échangé et partagé avec le public, les artistes et toute l’équipe. C’est bien de partage dont il s’agit, le théâtre à mes yeux n’existe que dans cet échange. À tous et à toutes, un immense merci!!

Menu