May 20, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

National Indigenous History Month

Indigenous arts

Artwork by Germaine Arnaktauyok, NAC Kipnes Lantern

This National Indigenous History Month and National Indigenous Peoples Day, the NAC honours the strength of the First Nations, Inuit and Metis Nation, their people, cultures and perspectives, the memory of those voices lost and the living survivors of the Residential schools and their families.  

All through June, the voices of Indigenous artists will be prominent through the numerous free performances and activities in theatre, dance and music available online. Among the free events this month will be weekly Powwow Workout Classes; online learning workshops from Indigenous artists; performance videos from Music, Dance and Theatre; a continuation of monthly author talks with our Indigenous Book Club; and an exciting partnership with the International Indigenous Music Summit.

Indigenous artwork will be featured on the NAC’s Kipnes Lantern throughout the month of June, with stunning artwork from renowned Indigenous artists Germaine Arnaktauyok (Inuit, Igloolik), Christi Belcourt (Michif [Métis]) and Simon Brascoupé (Anishinaabe).

In addition, throughout the month of June, the Kipnes Lantern will regularly turn orange, day and night, to honour the 215 Indigenous children found in the mass grave at the Old Kamloops Residential School. The NAC has lowered its flag at half-mast for 215 hours (nine days), representing one hour for each child found at the unmarked mass grave and in memory of the many other Indigenous children that remain undiscovered in unmarked graves at Residential schools across the country. 

On June 21, the NAC will be partnering with APTN’s Content Creation team on Better Late Than Never, a new documentary that takes audiences into the inaugural launch of NAC Indigenous Theatre. The documentary premieres on the APTN lumi streaming platform on National Indigenous Peoples Day.

Indigenous Cities
Indigenous Cities presents memories from Indigenous community members based in cities across Canada; memories that have been interpreted by Indigenous artists to create a unique audio storytelling experience.

Upcoming events

  1. Join us on Thursday May 13 at 12:00pm EST for Powwow Workout Class, led by Allex Wells! In this Powwow Workout, Allex Wells (Sisqua7) will teach traditional hoop … read more

  2. Join us on Thursday June 24 at 12:00pm EST for Powwow Workout Class, led by Steevi King! This high-intensity workout will introduce traditional powwow dancing by … read more

  3. Artist-in Residence Ila Barker is joined by DJ Shub. Considered to be the Godfather of PowWowStep, DJ Shub has undoubtedly pioneered a growing genre of electronic … read more

  • explore

    Indigenous Cities

    Indigenous Cities presents memories from Indigenous community members based in cities across Canada; memories that have been interpreted by Indigenous artists to create a unique audio storytelling experience.

  • video series

    National Indigenous History Month

    Interviews with visual artists Germaine Arnaktauyok, Christi Belcourt and Simon Brascoupé explore the deep relevance of Indigenous arts to the artists and all of our communities.

  • activity

    Indigenous words colouring pages

    Colouring pages featuring artwork created by Indigenous artists from the regions where these languages are spoken. Join us in colouring in these pages and share your work!

  • creation

    Grand Acts of Theatre

    The NAC has funded 14 of Canada’s most innovative theatre companies to create and perform large-scale, new works in response to these challenging times.

  • resources

    Mental health resource list

    It is critical to safeguard your mental wellness. We have gathered a collection of mental health resources aimed at maintaining and improving mental health and well being.

  • video series

    Capsule

    Watch 60 short films created by Canadian dance artists. Available until August 31, 2021.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 20 mai 2021.

Mois national de l’histoire autochtone

Arts autochtones

Oeuvre de Germaine Arnaktauyok, Lanterne Kipnes du CNA


À l’occasion du Mois national de l’histoire autochtone et de la Journée nationale des peuples autochtones, le CNA honore la force des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis, de leurs peuples, cultures et perspectives, ainsi que le souvenir de ces voix perdues et la présence des survivants des pensionnats autochtones et de leurs familles.

Tout au long du mois de juin, les voix d’artistes autochtones seront au cœur d’activités en ligne et de prestations gratuites en théâtre, danse et musique. Parmi les événements gratuits qui seront offerts, mentionnons les séances d’entraînement pow-wow hebdomadaires, des ateliers en ligne animés par des artistes autochtones, des vidéos de spectacles de danse, de musique et de théâtre, la poursuite des rencontres mensuelles de notre Club de lecture autochtone avec les auteurs des livres à l’étude en juin, ainsi qu’un un partenariat prometteur avec le Sommet international des musiques autochtones.

Des œuvres d’artistes autochtones seront mis de l’avant sur la lanterne Kipnes tout au long du mois de juin et projettera de superbes œuvres des artistes autochtones de renom Germaine Arnaktauyok (Inuite d’Igloolik), Christi Belcourt (Métisse [Michif]) et Simon Brascoupé (Anishinaabe). 
 
De plus, tout au long du moins de juin, la lanterne Kipnes sera régulièrement revêtue d’orange, le jour comme le soir, pour honorer la mémoire des 215 enfants autochtones retrouvés à l’ancien pensionnat autochtone de Kamloops. Le CNA a mis son drapeau en berne pendant 215 heures (neuf jours), ce qui représente une heure pour chaque enfant retrouvé dans la fosse commune non marquée et à la mémoire des nombreux autres enfants autochtones qui n'ont toujours pas été retrouvés aux anciens pensionnats du pays. 

Enfin, le 21 juin, le CNA s’associe à APTN pour un documentaire qui nous fera revivre l’inauguration du Théâtre autochtone du CNA, et qui sera diffusé sur les ondes d’APTN lumi.  

Cités autochtones
Cités autochtones vous offre des souvenirs de membres de communautés autochtones résidant dans différentes villes canadiennes. Interprétés par des artistes autochtones, ils constituent une expérience narrative auditive des plus originales.

Événements à venir

  1. Soyez des nôtres le jeudi 13 mai à midi (HNE) pour une séance d’entraînement pow-wow avec Allex Wells! … plus

  2. Soyez des nôtres le jeudi 24 juin à midi (HNE) pour une séance d’entraînement pow-wow avec artiste Steevi King! (séance … plus

  3. Pour cet atelier sur la création musicale, l’artiste en résidence Ila Barker sera en compagnie de DJ Shub. Considéré comme le … plus

  • explorer

    Cités autochtones

    Une expérience auditive unique vous offrant des souvenirs de membres de communautés autochtones interprétés par des artistes autochtones.

  • série vidéo

    Mois national de l’histoire autochtone

    Des causeries avec Germaine Arnaktauyok, Christi Belcourt et Simon Brascoupé exploreront en outre le rôle primordial que jouent les arts autochtones pour les artistes et la collectivité.

  • activité

    Mots autochtones à colorier

    Nos dessins à colorier représenteront des œuvres d’artistes autochtones venant des régions où l’on parle ces langues. Amusez-vous à colorier ces dessins et montrez-nous vos œuvres!

  • création

    Envolées théâtrales

    Quatorze des compagnies de théâtre les plus novatrices du pays ont été recrutées par le CNA pour concevoir et interpréter de nouvelles œuvres de grande envergure en réponse à cette période difficile.

  • ressources

    Liste de ressources sur la santé mentale

    Il est impératif de protéger votre santé mentale. Nous avons réuni une collection de ressources de santé mentale afin de vous aider à maintenir et améliorer votre santé mentale et votre bien-être.

  • série vidéo

    Capsule

    Plongez-vous dans 60 courts métrages d’artistes de danse du Canada. Disponible jusqu’au 31 août 2021.

Menu