NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until June 30
Javier Perianes
Javier Perianes © Josep Molina
Klaus Makëla © Heikki Tuuli

A thing of beauty is truly a joy forever. From the bold timpani roll in its opening bars to the spellbinding and iconic piano flourish that follows, Edvard Grieg’s gorgeous Piano Concerto is one for the ages. Powerfully articulated in the hands of Spanish-born guest pianist Javier Perianes, Grieg’s only piano concerto is rightly beloved, from its dramatic beginning to its melancholic second movement through the colour and joy of its end.

Jean Sibelius wrote his Symphony No. 5 as a commission for the government of Finland to honour his own 50th birthday, which that country had declared a national holiday. Like the warm sun that follows a dark winter storm, this symphony is filled with transcendent passages that joyfully unfold to one of the greatest orchestral finales of all time.

Conductor and composer friendships are often the foundation for great musical works, and young Finns Klaus Mäkelä and Sauli Zinovjev are at the vanguard of a new generation of classical artists putting their individual stamps on the world of orchestral music. After his spectacular debut with the NAC Orchestra in May 2018, Mäkëla makes a triumphant return to the podium to conduct the North American debut of Zinovjev’s Un Grande Sospiro.

Credits

This event is cancelled


Sorry, all performances are cancelled.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de septembre 2020.
Javier Perianes
Javier Perianes © Josep Molina
Klaus Makëla © Heikki Tuuli

Les plus belles choses de ce monde sont une source inépuisable de joie. Du puissant roulement de timbales des premières mesures à l’envoûtante et iconique envolée de piano qui suit, le sublime Concerto pour piano d’Edvard Grieg est un défi au temps. Puissamment exécuté par le pianiste invité d’origine espagnole Javier Perianes, l’unique concerto pour piano de Grieg est, à juste titre, l’un des plus aimés du répertoire, de son début dramatique à son mélancolique deuxième mouvement, jusqu’à sa conclusion colorée et enjouée.

Jean Sibelius a composé sa Symphonie no 5 pour souligner son 50e anniversaire, un jour que le gouvernement finlandais, commanditaire de la pièce, avait d’ailleurs déclaré fête nationale. Comme le chaud soleil vient succéder à la sombre tempête hivernale, cette symphonie regorge de passages transcendants qui nous mènent joyeusement à l’un des plus grands finales de tous les temps.

L’amitié entre compositeurs et chefs d’orchestre donne souvent lieu à de grandes œuvres. Klaus Mäkelä et Sauli Zinovjev, deux jeunes Finlandais, sont à l’avant-garde d’une nouvelle génération d’artistes de la musique classique qui laissent leur empreinte sur le répertoire pour orchestre. Après une première prestation spectaculaire avec l’Orchestre du CNA en mai 2018, Mäkelä fait un retour triomphal au podium dans la première nord-américaine d’Un Grande Sospiro de Zinovjev.

crédits


Désolé, cet événement ne fait pas partie de la programmation en cours.

Menu