video: Yosuke Kawasaki on Koprowski’s Violin Concerto
Yosuke Kawasaki on Koprowski’s Violin Concerto
Yosuke Kawasaki © Remi Thériault
Yosuke Kawasaki © Remi Thériault
John Storgards © Freestyle Photography

World Premiere

NAC Commission

Revere the old and celebrate the new, beginning with Haydn’s high-spirited Symphony No. 100, nicknamed the “Military” because of its exuberant fanfares that evoke parades filled with pageantry and colour.

The NAC Orchestra asked composer Peter Paul Koprowski to write his Violin Concerto especially for esteemed concertmaster Yosuke Kawasaki, who has held the chair since 2007. Koprowski is a Polish-Canadian JUNO nominee and recipient of the NAC’s Award for Canadian Composers.

Most of us start playing our instruments before we even know what music or art means to us. At the time when I realized that the music I was playing had an emotional impact on me, I also became aware that I was mostly recreating sounds of compositions from the past. Nothing that I was playing was new.  I wasn’t really part of a true creative process as all artists should experience. In this world premier of Peter Paul Koprowski’s violin concerto he is the real creator, but think of me as his tool to bring his composition alive as the violin is a tool for me to bring my voice to you the audience. Maybe I can finally crossover from a violinist to an artist! – Yosuke Kawasaki

Danish composer Carl Nielsen found the inspiration for his Symphony No. 2, nicknamed “The Four Temperaments,” in a comical picture he saw on the wall of a room where he was having a beer with his wife. Though the picture depicting the four temperaments – choleric, phlegmatic, melancholic, and sanguine – initially amused him, the seed was planted for his treasured Symphony No. 2. This evening the NAC Orchestra performs a Nielsen symphony for the very first time under the baton of guest conductor John Storgårds, a master interpreter of Nielsen’s majestic and lyrical works.

Credits

Reserve now to guarantee availability!

Reserve Now

Location

Southam Hall, National Arts Centre

Running Time

Approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes.

Cost

Free admission by reservation only (at least two weeks in advance). Cancellations without a minimum of 72 hours notice will be subject to a $50 fee.

Group Size

Attendance may be limited; maximum 75 students per school, per visit.

Important Note

Open rehearsals are subject to change or cancellation at any time. When requesting more than one rehearsal, priority will be given to first-time attendees.


Complete a Reservation

You must reserve tickets to attend student matinees.

Once we receive your reservation we will follow up by email or telephone to confirm the details of your order, to calculate pricing, and to confirm any special instructions. We will then send you an invoice.

Please review ticket reservations, payments and policies prior to submitting your order.

Event Selection
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Name of the person responsible for this reservation
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Payment Information
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
School Information
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field

HST will be added to your invoice. Full payment will be due by deadline date. Cancellations will not be accepted after the payment deadline.

Once we receive your ticket order request we will calculate the cost, and the number of free adult chaperone tickets versus adult tickets to be paid, and send you an invoice.

Menu

Yosuke Kawasaki © Remi Thériault
Yosuke Kawasaki © Remi Thériault
John Storgards © Freestyle Photography

Première mondiale

Commande du CNA

Hommage à la tradition et honneur à la nouveauté, cette soirée commence par l’exaltante Symphonie no 100 de Haydn, surnommée « Militaire » en raison de ses fanfares exubérantes qui évoquent des parades fastueuses et hautes en couleur.

L’Orchestre du CNA a commandé un Concerto pour violon à Peter Paul Koprowski à l’intention de son éminent violon solo Yosuke Kawasaki, qui occupe ce poste depuis 2007. Le compositeur canadien d’origine polonaise a été mis en nomination aux prix JUNO et est un compositeur lauréat du CNA.

« Pour la plupart, nous avons commencé à jouer de notre instrument avant même de savoir ce que la musique ou l’art représentaient pour nous. Quand j’ai compris l’effet qu’avait la musique sur mes émotions, je me suis aussi rendu compte que ce que je faisais surtout, c’était recréer des mélodies écrites il y a longtemps. Je ne jouais rien de nouveau. Je ne faisais pas partie d’un vrai processus créatif – de ceux que tous les artistes devraient vivre. Le véritable créateur de ce Concerto pour violon en est le compositeur, Peter Paul Koprowski, mais en participant à la première mondiale, je me vois comme un vecteur de sa musique, tout comme le violon est pour moi un véhicule qui transmet ma voix aux spectateurs. C’est peut-être l’occasion que j’attendais de franchir la limite entre le violoniste et l’artiste! » – Yosuke Kawasaki

Le Danois Carl Nielsen a puisé l’inspiration de sa Symphonie no 2, surnommée « Les quatre tempéraments », dans un tableau comique qu’il avait vu sur un mur d’une taverne où il était allé prendre une bière avec son épouse. D’abord amusé par cette illustration des quatre tempéraments – colérique, flegmatique, mélancolique et sanguin – il en a ultérieurement tiré les germes de son étincelante Symphonie no 2. C’est la toute première fois que l’Orchestre du CNA joue une symphonie de Nielsen sous la baguette du chef invité John Storgårds, interprète hors pair des œuvres majestueuses et lyriques du compositeur danois.

crédits

Réservez dès maintenant pour vous assurer d’avoir des places !

Réservez

Lieu 

Salle Southam, Centre national des Arts

Durée

Environ 1 heure 15 minutes

Coût

Entrée libre, sur réservation seulement (au moins deux semaines à l’avance). Frais de 50 $ pour toute annulation faite à moins de 72 heures de la répétition.

Taille des groupes

Le nombre de spectateurs peut être limité; maximum de 75 élèves par école, par visite.

NOTA 

Les répétitions publiques sont sujettes à des changements d’horaire et à des annulations de dernière minute. De plus, si vous souhaitez assister à plus d’une répétition, sachez que nous accorderons la priorité aux groupes qui en sont à leur première visite.


Réservations

Vous devez réserver vos places pour pouvoir assister à des matinées scolaires.

Une fois que nous aurons reçu votre réservation, nous communiquerons avec vous par courriel ou par téléphone pour confirmer les détails de l’activité et vous donner toute consigne particulière, et calculerons le coût à payer. Nous vous enverrons dès lors une facture.

Consultez la section réservations, paiements et politiques avant de soumettre votre commande.

Choix de spectacles
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Nom de la personne responsable de cette réservation
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Paiement
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Renseignements sur l’école
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section

La TVH sera ajoutée à votre facture. Paiement intégral exigé à la date limite indiquée. Aucune annulation acceptée après la date limite de paiement.

Dès la réception de votre commande de billets, nous calculerons le prix total, et déterminerons le nombre d’adultes accompagnateurs ayant droit à un billet gratuit et le nombre d’adultes qui devront payer leur billet. Nous vous enverrons dès lors la facture.

Menu