September 21, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

MusicFest Canada: The Nationals

May 24-29, 2021
Grade 6-12 Music Classical music

Ages 12-19

The National Arts Centre collaborates with artists and arts organizations across Canada to help create a national stage for the performing arts, and acts as a catalyst for performance, creation and learning across the country. 

MusicFest Canada annually engages the participation of over 400,000 young musicians, parents and volunteers in 104 affiliated festivals nationwide for an opportunity to perform at the national festival. It is North America’s largest annual event dedicated to developing young musical talent. 

Staged in a major Canadian city each year, MusicFest Canada is the ultimate experience in combining music and education and is a moving force in the cultural life of Canada's youth. These young musicians perform in hundreds of ensembles and attend showcase concerts, clinics, feature cabarets and workshops for an intense, non-stop five days.

The NAC is a proud partner and sponsor of MusicFest Canada.
 


The Nationals in 2020

For the first time in 48 years, MusicFest Canada was forced to cancel its annual Nationals scheduled for May 18-23 in Calgary (AB) because of COVID-19. Of the 5,500 students whose ensembles earned invitations to attend this year’s national competition, 80 of the finest students were selected through an audition process to form the Denis Wick Canadian Wind Orchestra and the Thomastik-Infeld Canadian String Orchestra.

MusicFest Canada approached the NAC to see if the NAC Orchestra could offer their most talented high school students, conducting fellows, and high school music teachers a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to be coached by world-class musicians. Alexander Shelley and the NAC Orchestra enthusiastically agreed and close to 200 private and group “Zoom” lessons were arranged. The partnership culminated on May 28, 2020 when virtual performances of the students led by Alexander Shelley were shared as part of the NAC Orchestra’s popular noon-hour lunch break series.
 

The Nationals in 2021 (May 24-29)

The NAC Orchestra will present a series of virtual private lessons and masterclasses in partnership with MusicFest Canada’s two honour ensembles, the Thomastik-Infeld Canadian String Orchestra and the Denis Wick Canadian Wind Orchestra.
 

National Arts Centre Awards

MusicFest Canada and its sponsors give out approximately $100,000 in scholarships and awards at the festival, including two NAC Awards at $1,000 each for the best brass and string musicians.

Learning and engagement at Canada’s National Arts Centre is made possible through the support of many generous individuals and organizations from across the country. The Music Alive Program is made possible thanks to the leadership support of National Partner, The Azrieli Foundation, and Major Supporters, The Slaight Family Foundation and TD Bank Group. Thank you also to Grant and Alice Burton, Canada Life, A Donor-Advised Fund at the Community Foundation of Ottawa, Friends of the NAC Orchestra, Donors to the NAC Foundation's Future Fund, The Janice and Earle O’Born Fund for Artistic Excellence, and the donors and sponsors of the NAC’s National Youth and Education Trust, the primary resource for youth and education funding at the National Arts Centre.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 20 mai 2021.

MusicFest Canada: Finales nationales

le 24-29 mai 2021
6-12e année Musique Musique classique

12-19 ans

Le Centre national des Arts collabore avec des artistes et des organisations partout au Canada afin de créer une vibrante scène nationale dans le domaine des arts du spectacle, et agit comme catalyseur de la diffusion, de la création et de la transmission des savoirs d’un bout à l’autre du pays. 

Tous les ans, MusicFest Canada touche plus de 400 000 jeunes musiciens, parents et bénévoles au travers de 104 festivals affiliés pour leur donner l'occasion de se produire au festival national. Il s’agit du plus grand évènement annuel en Amérique du Nord dédié au développement du talent musical des jeunes. 

Présenté chaque année dans une grande ville canadienne, ce grand événement est un point de rencontre par excellence entre musique et éducation, et un catalyseur de la vie culturelle de la jeunesse canadienne. Pendant cinq journées bien remplies, les participants, répartis dans des centaines d’ensembles, prennent part, tantôt comme interprètes, tantôt comme spectateurs, à une enfilade de concerts-démonstrations, de cliniques, de cabarets et d’ateliers.

Le CNA est fier partenaire de MusicFest Canada.
 


Les finales nationales en 2020

Pour la première fois en 48 ans d’existence, le festival a dû annuler les finales nationales qui devaient avoir lieu à Calgary (Alb.) en mai 2020, en raison de la COVID-19. Parmi les 5500 élèves sélectionnés cette année, 80 brillants candidats devaient former l’ensemble de vents canadien Denis Wick et l’ensemble de cordes canadien Thomastik-Infeld.

À la demande de MusicFest Canada, l’Orchestre du CNA a offert à ces talentueux boursiers en direction orchestrale, élèves et enseignants du niveau secondaire une exceptionnelle occasion de recevoir un encadrement personnalisé de la part de musiciens de calibre international. Enthousiastes, Alexander Shelley et les musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA ont organisé pour eux environ 200 leçons individuelles et collectives grâce à la plateforme Zoom. Le point culminant de cette collaboration a eu lieu le 28 mai : Alexander Shelley dirige alors une prestation virtuelle des participants diffusée dans le cadre de la populaire série Pause-midi avec l’OCNA. 
 

Les finales nationales en 2021 (le 24-29 mai)

L’Orchestre du CNA présentera une série de leçons privées virtuelles et de classes de maître en partenariat avec les deux ensembles d’honneur de MusicFest Canada :

Prix du Centre national des Arts

MusicFest Canada et ses commanditaires remettent environ 100 000 $ en bourses et en prix durant l’événement. Le CNA décerne deux prix de 1 000 $ chacun au Meilleur jeune instrumentiste à cuivre et au Meilleur instrumentiste à cordes.

La Médiation culturelle est rendue possible grâce aux généreuses contributions de particuliers et d’organisations de partout au pays. Le programme Vive la musique est rendu possible grâce au soutien de la Fondation Azrieli, partenaire national, ainsi que de la Fondation de la famille Slaight et du Groupe Banque TD, souscripteurs majeurs. Merci également à Grant et Alice Burton, à Canada Vie, à un fonds orienté par le donateur à la Fondation communautaire d’Ottawa, aux Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA, aux donatrices et donateurs du Fonds de l’Avenir de la Fondation du CNA, au Fonds Janice et Earle O’Born pour l’excellence artistique, ainsi qu’aux donatrices, donateurs et commanditaires de la Fiducie nationale pour la jeunesse et l’éducation du CNA, principale source de financement des programmes jeunesse et activités éducatives du Centre national des Arts.

Menu