October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.

Creating a Story Through Sound

with Emily Seguin
Creating a Story Through Sound
Creating a Story Through Sound © Christian Leduc
Preschool to Grade 8 Indigenous arts Music Theatre Workshops

Ages 4-14

In this workshop, students are invited to create a story by exploring sound using everyday instruments and objects. Through teamwork, active listening and sound exploration, the artist will guide the students in creating a collective soundtrack that tells a meaningful story (chosen by the group). 

Sound and music tell us stories without words; stories that are unifying and unique, and that can be heard and felt. As humans, we are all creators of sound and thus we are all storytellers. Sound allows us to express what words cannot. 

In one of my collective creations, a play called G’zaagiin, Je te promets une forêt, my co-musician and I create a 30-minute soundtrack, without words, that tells our story and the story of our forests. We use our voices and instruments in unconventional ways to produce the sounds of the forest. For instance, I use a cello bow on the back strings of my drum to produce the sound of a whale. The possibilities of sound exploration are endless! 

—EMILY MARIE SEGUIN 

 

Materials 

Students are encouraged to find an everyday household object or instrument that produces some kind of sound when handled. For example:  

- Dry rice in a Tupperware container 

- Box of tissue paper 

- Empty toilet paper rolls (cardboard tubes) 

- Water bottle 

- Other recycled items (cans, soda bottles, cardboard boxes, etc.) 

- Metal bowls 

- Wooden spoon 

Learn more about the artists

Learning and engagement at Canada’s National Arts Centre is made possible through the support of many generous individuals and organizations from across the country. The Music Alive Program is made possible thanks to the leadership support of National Partner, The Azrieli Foundation, and Major Supporters, The Slaight Family Foundation and TD Bank Group. Thank you also to Grant and Alice Burton, Canada Life, A Donor-Advised Fund at the Community Foundation of Ottawa, Friends of the NAC Orchestra, Donors to the NAC Foundation's Future Fund, The Janice and Earle O’Born Fund for Artistic Excellence, and the donors and sponsors of the NAC’s National Youth and Education Trust, the primary resource for youth and education funding at the National Arts Centre.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.

Créer une histoire avec le son

animé par Emily Seguin
Créer une histoire avec le son
Créer une histoire avec le son © Christian Leduc
Préscolaire à la 8e année Arts autochtones Musique Théâtre Ateliers

4-14 ans

Dans cet atelier, les élèves sont invités à créer une histoire à travers l’exploration du son. Pour cela, ils utiliseront des instruments et des objets du quotidien. Grâce au travail d’équipe, à l’écoute active et à l’exploration sonore, l’artiste guidera les élèves dans la création d’une trame sonore collective pour donner vie à une histoire significative (choisie par le groupe). 

Le son et la musique nous racontent des histoires sans paroles ; des histoires rassembleuses et uniques qui peuvent être écoutées, ressenties. En tant qu’humains, nous sommes tous créateurs de sons et sommes donc tous les conteurs de nos histoires. Le son nous permet d’exprimer ce que les mots ne peuvent pas.  

Dans une de mes créations collectives, un spectacle intitulé G’zaagiin, Je te promets une forêt, ma co-musicienne et moi créons une trame sonore de 30 minutes, sans paroles, qui raconte notre histoire et celle de nos forêts. Nous explorons nos voix et nos instruments de façon non conventionnelle pour produire les sons de la forêt. Par exemple, j’utilise un archet de violoncelle sur les cordes arrière de mon tambour pour produire le son d’une baleine. Les possibilités de l’exploration sonore sont infinies!  

– EMILY MARIE SEGUIN 

 

Matériaux requis  

Les élèves sont encouragés à trouver un objet du quotidien ou un instrument qu’ils ont à la maison. L’objet choisi doit pouvoir produire un peu de son lorsqu’il est manipulé. Par exemple :  

- Riz sec dans un contenant Tupperware  

- Boîte de papier de soie  

- Rouleaux de papier toilette vides (cylindres en carton)  

- Bouteille d’eau  

- Autres objets recyclés (canettes, bouteilles de soda, cartons, etc.)  

- Bols en métal  

- Cuillère en bois 

La Médiation culturelle est rendue possible grâce aux généreuses contributions de particuliers et d’organisations de partout au pays. Le programme Vive la musique est rendu possible grâce au soutien de la Fondation Azrieli, partenaire national, ainsi que de la Fondation de la famille Slaight et du Groupe Banque TD, souscripteurs majeurs. Merci également à Grant et Alice Burton, à Canada Vie, à un fonds orienté par le donateur à la Fondation communautaire d’Ottawa, aux Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA, aux donatrices et donateurs du Fonds de l’Avenir de la Fondation du CNA, au Fonds Janice et Earle O’Born pour l’excellence artistique, ainsi qu’aux donatrices, donateurs et commanditaires de la Fiducie nationale pour la jeunesse et l’éducation du CNA, principale source de financement des programmes jeunesse et activités éducatives du Centre national des Arts.

Menu