Act Now: Climate Action through the Arts

In School Workshop with Ryan Elliot Drew
Music Theatre Dance Visual Arts

In school

Ages 12-18

Offered in English only

How can the arts respond to the climate emergency?

This interactive virtual workshop positions artists as agents of much needed environmental change. To begin the workshop, students will explore the work of various global creators who reflect upon, interact with, and bring awareness to climate change and other environmental processes through music, poetry, dance, photography, film, and other art forms. Students will brainstorm innovative ways that artists might advance sustainable practices and perspectives through their work. Additionally, students will learn to create their own biodiversity collage — a snapshot of life within a defined area — involving visual arts and wildlife observation. This workshop is designed for students in Grades 7-12.

The notion human activity is innately damaging to the natural world is rooted in colonial conception. Stewards of the land now referred to as Canada, Indigenous Peoples have long coexisted with the natural world in ways that promote sustainability and respect for the environment. This workshop reflects the theme of “Listening to the Earth” presented as part of NAC Orchestra’s SPHERE Festival in Fall 2022.

Objectives: Music, Dance, Theatre, Visual Art, Media Arts, Geography, Social Studies

Key Words: Critical Thinking, Creative Process, Collaboration, Communication

This in person workshop is only available to schools in Prince Edward Island. For a virtual version of this workshop, click here. 

Please note - a surcharge for long distance travel to your school may apply.

Learning and engagement at Canada’s National Arts Centre is made possible through the support of many generous individuals and organizations from across the country. The Music Alive Program is made possible thanks to the leadership support of National Partner, The Azrieli Foundation, and Major Supporters, The Slaight Family Foundation and TD Bank Group. Thank you also to Grant and Alice Burton, Canada Life, A Donor-Advised Fund at the Community Foundation of Ottawa, Friends of the NAC Orchestra, Donors to the NAC Foundation's Future Fund, The Janice and Earle O’Born Fund for Artistic Excellence, and the donors and sponsors of the NAC’s National Youth and Education Trust, the primary resource for youth and education funding at the National Arts Centre.

Menu

Agissons maintenant : l’action climatique par les arts

un atelier à votre école avec Ryan Elliot Drew
Musique Théâtre Danse Arts visuels

En classe

12-18 ans

Offert en anglais seulement

Comment les arts peuvent-ils répondre à l'urgence climatique ?

Cet atelier interactif et virtuel positionne les artistes comme des agents de changement en matière d’environnement. Les participants exploreront d’abord les œuvres de divers créateurs internationaux qui, par la musique, la poésie, la danse, la photographie, le cinéma et d’autres formes d’art, réfléchissent, réagissent et sensibilisent aux changements climatiques et autres phénomènes environnementaux. Ils seront ensuite invités à mettre en commun leurs idées quant aux façons innovantes dont les artistes pourraient, à travers leurs œuvres, promouvoir des pratiques et des perspectives écologiques. En outre, les élèves apprendront à créer leur propre collage sur la biodiversité - un instantané de la vie dans une zone définie - en faisant appel aux arts visuels et à l'observation de la faune. Cet atelier s’adresse à des élèves de la 7e à la 12e année.

L'idée que l'activité humaine est intrinsèquement nuisible au monde naturel est enracinée dans la conception coloniale. Intendants de la terre que l'on appelle aujourd'hui le Canada, les peuples autochtones ont longtemps coexisté avec le monde naturel de manière à promouvoir la durabilité et le respect de l'environnement. Cet atelier reflète le thème " À l'écoute de la Terre " présenté dans le cadre du festival SPHERE de l'Orchestre du CNA à l'automne 2022.

Objectifs : la musique, la danse, le théâtre, les arts visuels, les arts médiatiques, la géographie, les études sociales

Mots clés : la pensée critique, le processus créatif, la collaboration, la communication


Cet atelier en personne est disponible pour les écoles de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard seulement. Pour une version virtuelle, cliquez ici.

Veuillez noter qu'un supplément pour les déplacements longue distance vers votre école peut s'appliquer.

La Médiation culturelle est rendue possible grâce aux généreuses contributions de particuliers et d’organisations de partout au pays. Le programme Vive la musique est rendu possible grâce au soutien de la Fondation Azrieli, partenaire national, ainsi que de la Fondation de la famille Slaight et du Groupe Banque TD, souscripteurs majeurs. Merci également à Grant et Alice Burton, à Canada Vie, à un fonds orienté par le donateur à la Fondation communautaire d’Ottawa, aux Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA, aux donatrices et donateurs du Fonds de l’Avenir de la Fondation du CNA, au Fonds Janice et Earle O’Born pour l’excellence artistique, ainsi qu’aux donatrices, donateurs et commanditaires de la Fiducie nationale pour la jeunesse et l’éducation du CNA, principale source de financement des programmes jeunesse et activités éducatives du Centre national des Arts.

Menu