NAC Presents Across Canada

NAC Presents expands to 10 cities in collaboration with 10 music organizations across Canada.

The National Arts Centre is proud to announce an unprecedented collaboration with partner organizations across Canada in support of the Canadian music scene. The ambitious initiative called NAC Presents Across Canada, will help support nearly 40 concerts in 10 cities across Canada in 2017-2018 to help build the careers of emerging Canadian musicians.

“NAC Presents Across Canada will start to build a network of music organizations and community promoters that work together to promote talent, help artists develop audiences across Canada, and create touring opportunities and will build national networks for both the artists and the organizations involved.”

Heather Gibson , Executive Producer

The creative force behind the project is Heather Gibson, the new Executive Producer of NAC Presents, who joined the NAC six months ago after a successful career in the music industry. Immediately upon her arrival in Ottawa, Gibson saw the opportunity to build a network of live music organizations to support the career development of emerging Canadian musicians. She began travelling the country in her new role, and within a few months had made partnerships in St. John’s, Charlottetown, Halifax, Montréal, Toronto, Winnipeg, Regina, Calgary, Vancouver and Whitehorse.

NAC Presents Across Canada concerts will showcase a wide variety of Canadian emerging musicians in all genres. The series is programmed collaboratively between Heather Gibson and the artistic leadership in each partner organization. The programming will focus on emerging Canadian talent.

The National Arts Centre is Canada’s home for the performing arts, and NAC Presents across Canada will allow the institution to deepen its engagement with the contemporary music scene in every region. NAC Presents Across Canada will also help support the development of emerging artists, and in turn, will support the development of audiences in Canada for emerging music, which strengthens the artistic life of our nation.

Confirmed programming

Yukon Arts Centre

Whitehorse, Yukon

  • Ferron and Her All Star Band September 17
  • Project Humanity’s Freedom Singer October 4
  • Kane & Potvin March 2
  • The Fourth Light Project: An Immersive Multimedia Experience March 21

Vancouver Folk Music Festival

Vancouver, British Columbia

  • David Myles October 29
  • Good Lovelies December 6
     

Calgary Folk Music Festival

Calgary, Alberta

  • Martha Wainwright October 24
  • The Dead South December 2

Regina Folk Festival

Regina, Saskatchewan

  • Nomadic Massive November 10
  • William Prince November 23
  • Cold Specks November 24

Winnipeg Folk Festival

Winnipeg, Manitoba

  • William Prince November 9
  • Nomadic Massive November 11

Lula Lounge/Lula Music and Arts Centre

Toronto, Ontario

  • Sarah Thawer, opening night of Women in Percussion series  October 11

Phi Centre

Montréal, Québec

  • Allie X September 2
  • Common Deer September 15

Halifax Pop Explosion

Halifax, Nova Scotia

Confederation Centre for the Arts

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

  • Barenaked Ladies October 16
Menu

CNA Présente partout au pays

Expansion de CNA Présente dans dix villes en collaboration avec dix organisations musicales de partout au Canada

Le Centre national des Arts est fier d’annoncer une collaboration sans précédent avec des organisations partenaires de partout au Canada en faveur de la scène musicale canadienne. L’ambitieuse initiative CNA Présente partout au pays appuiera la tenue d’une quarantaine de concerts dans dix villes des quatre coins du pays en 2017-2018 pour encourager les musiciens de la relève.

« Avec CNA Présente partout au pays, nous voulons commencer à bâtir un réseau d’organisations musicales et de promoteurs locaux qui travailleront ensemble pour encourager le talent, aider les artistes à se faire connaître à l’échelle nationale et mettre sur pied des projets de tournée. Tant les organisations que les artistes profiteront des réseaux nationaux établis. »

Heather Gibson , productrice générale

Heather Gibson, la nouvelle productrice générale de CNA Présente, est le moteur de cette initiative. Heather s’est jointe au CNA il y a six mois, forte de nombreux succès professionnels dans l’industrie de la musique.  Dès son arrivée à Ottawa, elle a eu l’idée de créer un réseau d’organisations musicales pour soutenir le développement de la relève canadienne en musique. Après quelques mois et plusieurs voyages, elle avait déjà noué des partenariats à St. John’s, Charlottetown, Halifax, Montréal, Toronto, Winnipeg, Regina, Calgary, Vancouver et Whitehorse.

La nouvelle série présentera un large éventail d’artistes travaillant dans divers genres musicaux. La programmation sera élaborée conjointement par Heather Gibson et la direction artistique de chaque organisation partenaire, et mettra l’accent sur la relève canadienne. 

Le CNA est le carrefour des arts de la scène au Canada. CNA Présente partout au pays aidera l’établissement à renforcer ses liens avec la scène musicale contemporaine de chaque région. La série encouragera le développement de la relève et fera connaître la musique émergente à de nouveaux publics, ce qui contribuera à la vitalité artistique de la nation.

Confirmed programming

Centre des Arts du Yukon

Whitehorse, Yukon

  • Ferron and Her All Star Band 17 septembre
  • Project Humanity’s Freedom Singer 4 octobre
  • Kane & Potvin 2 mars
  • The Fourth Light Project: An Immersive Multimedia Experience 21 mars

Festival de musique folk de Vancouver

Vancouver, British Columbia

  • David Myles 29 octobre
  • Good Lovelies 6 décembre
     

Festival de musique folk de Calgary

Calgary, Alberta

  • Martha Wainwright 14 novembre
  • The Dead South 2 decembre

Festival folk de Regina

Regina, Saskatchewan

  • Nomadic Massive 10 novembre
  • William Prince 23 novembre
  • Cold Specks 24 novembre

Festival folk de Winnipeg

Winnipeg, Manitoba

  • William Prince 9 novembre
  • Nomadic Massive 11 novembre

Lula Lounge/Lula Music and Arts Centre

Toronto, Ontario

  • Sarah Thawer, soirée d’ouverture de la série Women in Percussion  11 octobre

Centre Phi

Montréal, Québec

  • Allie X 2 septembre
  • Common Deer 15 septembre
  • Cold Specks 1 décembre

Halifax Pop Explosion

Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse

Centre des arts de la Confédération

Charlottetown, Île-du-Prince-Édouard

  • Barenaked Ladies 16 octobre

Arts and Culture Centres

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Menu