Air Canada Ovation Series

Alice Sarah Ott

Jonas Becker

5-concert series starting at $106

Beethoven’s iconic Ninth symphony – Rachminoff’s lush second symphony – Rimsky-Korsakov’s glittering Scheherazade… This five-concert series with the NAC Orchestra features some of the most popular and beautiful symphonic music ever written. In addition, Music director Alexander Shelley has invited some of today’s most exciting pianists to perform with the Orchestra, including Alain Léfevre, Alice Sara Ott, Beatrice Rana and Stephen Hough.

    • Copland Fanfare for the Common Man
    • Copland Appalachian Spring
    • Beethoven Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125, “Choral”

    A hymn to our common humanity in times of war and ethnic strife, Beethoven’s Ode to Joy remains as relevant today as the day it was first performed. After struggling for years to compose his masterpiece, Beethoven never heard it — he was completely deaf by the time it premiered in 1824.  Now, nearly two centuries later, the hope expressed in the chorus still resonates: that joy shall bind us together, though customs tear us apart. In an uncertain world, feel the uplifting power of Beethoven’s immortal Ninth Symphony.

    • Beethoven Egmont Overture
    • Grieg Piano Concerto
    • Mendelssohn Symphony No. 3, “Scottish”

    From the concert halls of Europe to the U.S. Billboard Hot 100, Grieg’s Piano Concerto in A minor has always been a hit with the crowds. An instant success when it premiered in 1869, the concerto quickly took its place in the classical music repertoire. It crossed over to rock’n’roll in 1961, when jazz artist Jimmy Wisner created the top-10 single “Asia Minor” by playing an excerpt from the first movement on a cheap piano in boogie-woogie style. After recording the Concerto on her 2016 album Wonderland — praised by the BBC for “deep lyricism and light, glittering finger work,” — 29-year-old Alice Sara Ott regales the NAC audience with this perennial favourite.

    • Ravel Pavane pour une infante défunte
    • WALTER BOUDREAU Concerto de l’asile
    • RIMSKY-KORSAKOV Scheherazade

    Soar away on a musical magic-carpet ride to the enchanted world of the Arabian Nights. Rimsky-Korsakov’s spellbinding orchestral suite weaves a dreamscape around a sweet, solo violin part that represents the voice of the storyteller Scheherazade, as she recounts ancient tales of love and adventure to her cruel, jealous husband. By turns thrilling, suspenseful, sinister and beautiful, the music of Scheherazade is sure to evoke, in the words of the composer, “an Oriental narrative of some numerous and varied fairy-tale wonders.”

    • Brahms, Johannes Piano Concerto No. 1
    • SCHUMANN (Orch. RAVEL) Selections from Carnaval
    • Schumann Symphony No. 2

    Succumb to the tempestuous emotion of Brahm’s most passionate piano concerto. Conceived after the attempted suicide of Brahm’s friend and mentor Robert Schumann, this stormy piece finds fierce expression at the hands of 23-year-old Italian prodigy Beatrice Rana. The youngest winner ever of the Montreal International Piano Competition in 2011, Rana makes her NAC debut by special invitation of our music director Alexander Shelley. The evening culminates with Schumann’s own Second Symphony, written as the composer attempted to overcome his feelings of depression through music.

    Thursday Ovation series subscribers attend Friday performance.

    • Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 1
    • Rachmaninoff Symphony No. 2
    • Mussorgsky Prelude to Khovanshchina

    Thrill to the music of the last great romantic composer, in this evening dedicated to the works of Sergei Rachmaninoff. A son of imperial Russia, Rachmaninoff sought to express his country’s innermost soul, “with its overtones of suffering and unrest, its pastoral but tragic beauty, its ancient and enduring glory.” No pianist captures the music’s essence better than Stephen Hough, named International Artist of the Year in 2016 by Limelight Magazine and one of the 25 “Best Piano Players of All Time” by Classic FM. Hear why Hough’s 2005 live recording of the Rachmaninoff Piano Concertos became the fastest selling album in the history of Hyperion Records.

    “Hough is simply one of the most interesting musicians around.” —Boston Globe​

Get the Best Seats at the Best Price.

613-947-7000 x620 • 1-866-850-2787 x620   •   Box Office hours & location

Subscribing is your best value!

  • Best Prices & Seats

    Become an NAC subscriber and save on regular ticket prices and guarantee your seating priority.

  • Free ticket exchanges

    When your plans change, so can your tickets. Subscribers pay no exchange fees.

  • Exclusive offers

    Enjoy discounted parking rates and get advance tickets to popular NAC events though exclusive pre-sale offers, available only to subscribers.

  • More tickets, more savings

    Subscribers save up to 15% on the purchase of additional tickets to select NAC music, theatre and dance performances.

Learn more about the benefits of subscribing
Menu

Série Ovation Air Canada

Alice Sarah Ott

Jonas Becker

Série de 5 concerts à partir de 106 $

L’emblématique Neuvième symphonie de Beethoven – la luxuriante Deuxième symphonie de Rachmaninov – l’étincelante Shéhérazade de Rimski-Korsakov… Cette série de cinq concerts avec l’Orchestre du CNA met à l’honneur quelques-unes des plus populaires et des plus belles musiques symphoniques jamais écrites. De plus, le directeur musical Alexander Shelley a invité quelques-uns des plus brillants pianistes d’aujourd’hui à se produire avec l’Orchestre, dont Alain Lefèvre, Alice Sara Ott, Beatrice Rana et Stephen Hough.

    • Copland Fanfare for the Common Man
    • Copland Appalachian Spring
    • Beethoven Symphonie no 9 en ré mineur, opus 125, « Chorale »

    Hymne à notre humanité commune composé en temps de guerre et de conflits ethniques, l’Ode à la joie de Beethoven reste aussi pertinente aujourd’hui qu’elle l’était à sa création. Après avoir mis des années d’efforts acharnés à composer son chef-d’œuvre, Beethoven ne l’a jamais entendu – sa surdité était totale quand l’œuvre a été créée en 1824. Près de deux siècles plus tard, l’espoir exprimé dans le chœur résonne encore : bien que nos coutumes nous séparent, la joie nous réunira. Dans ce monde incertain, laissez-vous transporter par l’immortelle Neuvième de Beethoven.

    • Beethoven Ouverture Egmont
    • Grieg Concerto pour piano
    • Mendelssohn Symphonie no 3, « Écossaise »

    Des salles de concerts européennes aux palmarès Billboard Hot 100 américains, le Concerto pour piano en la mineur de Grieg a toujours eu un succès retentissant. Une réussite dès sa création en 1869, il s’est rapidement taillé une place dans le répertoire de la musique classique. Ce concerto est passé au style rock’n’roll en 1961, lorsque l’artiste jazz Jimmy Wisner créa « Asia Minor », une pièce qui s’est classée au Top 10, en jouant un extrait du premier mouvement sur un piano bon marché dans un style boogie-woogie. Après avoir enregistré le Concerto en 2016 pour son album Wonderland — salué par la BBC pour son « lyrisme profond et son doigté d’une brillante légèreté » — Alice Sara Ott, 29 ans, régale le public du CNA de ce grand favori.

    • Ravel Pavane pour une infante défunte
    • WALTER BOUDREAU Concerto de l’asile
    • RIMSKI-KORSAKOV Shéhérazade

    Envolez-vous sur un tapis volant vers le monde musical enchanté des mille et une nuits. La suite orchestrale envoûtante de Rimsky-Korsakov tisse un paysage onirique à travers la douce mélodie d’un violon solo, évocation de la voix de Schéhérazade qui raconte à nouveau à son mari cruel et jaloux de vieilles histoires d’amour et d’aventures. Tour à tour palpitante, haletante, sinistre et splendide, la musique de Schéhérazade fait le récit de merveilleux contes de fées orientaux.

    • Brahms, Johannes Concerto pour piano no 1
    • SCHUMANN (orch. RAVEL) Extraits de Carnaval
    • Schumann Symphonie no 2

    Laissez-vous emporter par la tumultueuse émotion du concerto pour piano le plus passionné de Brahms. Composée à la suite du tentative de suicide de Robert Schumann, son ami et mentor, cette pièce orageuse est férocement interprétée par le prodige italien de 23 ans Beatrice Rana. Plus jeune lauréate à avoir remporté le Concours musical international de Montréal en 2011, Rana fait ses premiers pas sur la scène du CNA grâce à l’invitation spéciale que lui a faite notre directeur musical, Alexander Shelley. La soirée prendra fin avec la Deuxième symphonie de Schumann, qu’il composa dans une tentative de surmonter à travers la musique la dépression qui l’affligeait.

    Les abonnés du jeudi (série Ovation) assistent au concert du vendredi.

    • Rachmaninov Concerto pour piano no 1
    • Rachmaninov Symphonie no 2
    • Moussorgski Prélude de La Khovanchtchina

    Vibrez au son de la musique du dernier grand compositeur romantique lors de cette soirée consacrée à l’œuvre de Sergei Rachmaninov. Fils de l’empire russe, Rachmaninov cherchait à exprimer la profondeur de l’âme de son pays en ayant recours aux connotations de sa souffrance et de ses troubles, à sa beauté pastorale mais tragique, à sa gloire antique et durable. Aucun pianiste ne saisit mieux l’essence de la musique que Stephen Hough, nommé artiste international de l’année en 2016 par le Limelight Magazine et l’un des 25 meilleurs pianistes de tous les temps par Classic FM. Venez constater pourquoi l’enregistrement en direct de 2005 de Hough des concertos pour piano de Rachmaninov est devenu l’album le plus rapidement vendu de l’histoire de Hyperion Records.

    Renommé pour sa puissance et son raffinement, le pianiste Stephen Hough « est tout simplement l’un des musiciens les plus intéressants de l’heure » (Boston Globe).

Obtenez les meilleures places aux meilleurs prix

613-947-7000 poste 620 • 1-866-850-2787 poste 620   •   Emplacement de la billetterie et heures d'ouverture

Abonnez-vous et partez gagnant!

  • Les meilleurs prix et les meilleures places

    Épargnez sur le prix courant des billets à l'unité et obtenez la priorité sur le choix des sièges.

  • Échanges sans frais

    Un imprévu? Échangez tout simplement vos billets! Aucuns frais administratifs d'échange pour les abonnés.

  • Offres exclusives

    Profitez de tarifs de stationnement réduits et recevez des offres d'achat en prévente pour les événements populaires du CNA.

  • Achetez plus, épargnez plus!

    Économisez jusqu'à 15 % à l'achat de billets additionnels pour une sélection de concerts et de spectacles du CNA (Musique, Théâtre et Danse).

Apprenez-en plus sur les avantages de l’abonnement
Menu