Musical Adventures in my school

with NAC Orchestra Ensembles

Invite NAC Orchestra musicians along with professionals from the community into your classroom or auditorium for an exciting and entertaining instrumental concert that is sure to create a buzz among your students! Learn about the string, wind, brass, and percussion sections of the NAC Orchestra and ask the musicians about their experience being part of a professional orchestra. Each ensemble performance also includes interactive elements, allowing you and your students to be directly involved in the learning process.

Throughout the performance, students will:

  • Explore the orchestral instruments featured;
  • Discover a variety of musical genres and styles from the past and present through instrumental demonstrations and storytelling;
  • Learn about elements of music (i.e. duration, pitch, harmony/ texture, dynamics and other expressive controls, timbre, and form);
  • Engage in critical listening through suggested activities contained within the pedagogical guide provided;
  • Take part in a question-and-answer period with the musicians;
  • Become familiar with audience etiquette.
  1. Kindergarten to Grade 12

    Kindergarten to Grade 12

    Reserve

    The Silflay String Quartet will explore how composers in different styles of music use various forms of imitation. Through interactive games with the audience, the members of the quartet will uncover the most widely-used elements from Telemann to Beethoven, from Blues to well-known music that the students will have fun recognizing. The focus of this show is audience participation, and the musical games support a heightened state of listening. 

    • Language: English and French
    • Subsidized cost:
      One 50-minute performance: $310 + HST
      Two 35-minute performances: $465 + HST
  2. Kindergarten to Grade 12

    Kindergarten to Grade 12

    Reserve

    Drums, cymbals, timpani, marimbas, xylophones, and an inexhaustible supply of “toys” – these are all part of the percussion section of the orchestra. From J.S. Bach to rock, let Bangers & Smash show you all the sounds and colours percussion instruments can produce!

    • Language: English only
    • Note: Bangers & Smash performs from April to June, based upon availability.
    • Subsidized cost:
      One 50-minute performance: $250+HST
      Two 35-minute performances: $320 + HST
  3. Kindergarten to Grade 6

    Kindergarten to Grade 6

    Reserve

    Join three prominent members of the brass family on exciting and inspirational musical journey through time.  This uplifting adventure which features Beethoven’s famous Ode to Joy, Mozart’s delightful Eine Kleine Nachtmusik and the energetic La Cucaracha will keep you singing long after the concert!

    • Language: English and French
    • Subsidized cost:
      One 50-minute performance: $290 + HST
      Two 35-minute performances: $350 + HST
  4. Kindergarten to Grade 12

    Kindergarten to Grade 12

    Reserve

    From traditional classics to well-loved movie themes, the Brass Quintet will demonstrate the highest technical and musical demands made on today’s brass players! Offenbach’s high-spirited Can Can and John Williams’ triumphant Star Wars theme are among the brilliant works that you’ll hear from the brass section of the NAC Orchestra. The performance is certain to be a magnificent feast for the ears!

    • Language: English and French
    • Subsidized cost:
      One 50-minute performance: $330 + HST
      Two 35-minute performances: $520 + HST
  5. Kindergarten to Grade 12

    • flute

      Pascale Margely

    • oboe

      Susan Morris

    Kindergarten to Grade 12

    Reserve

    Come snap your fingers and tap your toes to the swinging beats of Bel Canto's Rhythm and Dance program! We have an exciting mix of dance music to play for you, from Carmen's Habanera to the Nutcracker's Waltz of the Flowers and much more in between. Bel Canto is a group of five wind musicians with Kenneth Simpson on drums. Students of every age will learn how rhythm is integrated into life: from our own heartbeats, to how we talk, to how we dance and much more! Audience participation adds to the fun of every performance.

    • Language: English and French
    • Subsidized cost:
      One 50-minute performance: $360 + HST
      Two 35-minute performances: $580 + HST
  6. Kindergarten to Grade 8

    Kindergarten to Grade 8

    Reserve

    Animals of every stripe and colour will entertain you when the Ayorama Wind Quintet visits your school! Prokofiev’s Peter and the Wolf and Mussorgsky’s Ballet of the Chickens in their Shells are among the musical works that will come to life in our musical zoo. Also explore the fascinating story of How Tiger Made Spider Build a Web with narrator Marjolaine Fournier, a piece by Canadian composer and former NAC Orchestra musician Stewart Grant that was composed especially for the Ayorama Wind Quintet. Audience laughter is an important ingredient in every performance.

    • Language: English and French
    • Subsidized cost:
      One 50-minute performance: $360 + HST
      Two 35-minute performances: $580 + HST
  7. Grade 3 to Grade 12

    • flute

      Pascale Margely

    • oboe

      Susan Morris

    Come with us on a musical journey! The Bel Canto Quintet will take you on a voyage to different countries and periods in history from the 17th to 20th centuries. You will see and hear what life was like for people of other times and places through our captivating music and visual presentation. Your tour will include the music of Beethoven in the French Revolution, Gershwin’s New York during the Roaring Twenties, World War II in Britain, and modern-day Canada. This presentation includes Ontario curriculum material for elementary and secondary music, social studies, and history courses.    

    • Language: English and French
    • Subsidized cost:
      One 50-minute performance: $330 + HST
      Two 35-minute performances: $520 + HST

    Marjocotton, a very lonely double bass, discovers an oddly-shaped ocarina (ancient flute) which suddenly transports her on a magical adventure around the world. As she travels from one continent to another, she discovers some interesting musical friends who help her along the way. Featuring two dynamic string players from Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra who share the same first name (Marjolaine), you’ll hear brilliant works from far-off lands including Austria, Russia, and China that will have you clapping and dancing in your seat!

    Grade: Kindergarten to Grade 3 / Grades 4 – 6

    Language: English and French

    Subsidized cost:
    One 50-minute performance: $ 250 + HST
    Two 35-minute performances: $ 320 + HST

The Musical Adventures In My School program is generously supported by the Friends of the NAC Orchestra and the NAC Foundation.

Menu

Aventures musicales à mon école

avec des ensembles de l’Orchestre du CNA

Invitez dans votre classe ou votre auditorium des musiciens de l’Orchestre du CNA et des professionnels de la communauté pour un concert instrumental divertissant et passionnant qui marquera à coup sûr vos élèves! Découvrez les sections des cordes, des vents, des cuivres et des percussions de l’Orchestre du CNA et demandez aux interprètes de vous parler de la vie de musician d’orchestre. Chaque ensemble inclut dans sa présentation des éléments interactifsqui font participer directement vos élèves et vous-même au processus d’apprentissage.

Durant le concert, l’élève :

  • Apprend à connaître les instruments d’orchestre à l’honneur;
  • Découvre différents genres et styles de musique d’hier et d’aujourd’hui par des démonstrations instrumentals et des récits;
  • Apprend des rudiments de la musique (durée, tonalité, harmonie/texture, timbre, forme, nuances et autres mécanismes d’expression);
  • Pratique une écoute critique en se prêtant aux activités suggérées dans le guide pédagogique fourni;
  • A l’occasion de poser des questions aux musiciens;
  • Se familiarise avec l’étiquette à observer durant un concert.
  1. Maternelle à 12e année (2e cycle sec.)

    Maternelle à 12e année (2e cycle sec.)

    Réservez

    Le Quatuor à cordes Silflay explore les différentes formes d’imitation utilisées par les compositeurs dans leur musique. En participant aux jeux interactifs, l’auditoire découvrira les éléments les plus empruntés de l’histoire de la musique, de Telemann à Beethoven, et du blues à des musiques célèbres que les élèves prendront plaisir à reconnaître. Le but de ce spectacle est de faire participer le public, et les jeux musicaux contribuent à accroître la capacité d’écoute. 

    • Langue : En français et en anglais
    • Coût après subvention :
      Une présentation de 50 minutes : 310 $ + TVH
      Deux présentations de 35 minutes : 465 $ + TVH
  2. Maternelle à 12e année (2e cycle sec.)

    Maternelle à 12e année (2e cycle sec.)

    Réservez

    Tambours, cymbales, timbales, marimbas, xylophones... La section des percussions compte une réserve inépuisable de « jouets ». Le duo Bangers & Smash utilise toute la palette de sons et de couleurs que produisent les instruments à percussion, depuis la musique de J.-S. Bach jusqu’au rock.

    • Langue : En anglais seulement
    • Nota : Bangers & Smash se produit d’avril à juin, selon ses disponibilités.
    • Coût après subvention :
      Une présentation de 50 minutes : 250 $ + TVH
      Deux présentations de 35 minutes : 320 $ + TVH
  3. Maternelle à 6e année

    Prenez part au voyage dans le temps exaltant et inspirant de trois membres éminents de la famille des cuivres. Vous entendrez la célèbre Ode à la joie de Beethoven, la délicieuse Petite musique de nuit de Mozart, l’énergique Cucaracha et d’autres airs bien connus qui continueront de vous trotter dans la tête bien après la présentation.

    • Langue : En français et en anglais
    • Coût après subvention :
      Une présentation de 50 minutes : 290 $ + TVH
      Deux présentations de 35 minutes : 350 $ + TVH
  4. Maternelle à 12e année (2e cycle sec.)

    Maternelle à 12e année (2e cycle sec.)

    Réservez

    Des airs classiques traditionnels aux plus belles musiques de film, le Quintette de cuivres fait étalage des prouesses techniques et musicales exigées de nos jours des instrumentistes à cuivre. Des membres de la section des cuivres de l’Orchestre du CNA vous proposent un florilège d’œuvres éclatantes comme le « Can Can » plein d’esprit d’Offenbach et le thème triomphal de La Guerre des étoiles de John Williams. Un merveilleux festin pour les oreilles!

    • Langue : En français et en anglais
    • Coût après subvention:
      Une présentation de 50 minutes : 330 $ + TVH
      Deux présentations de 35 minutes : 520 $ + TVH
  5. Maternelle à 12e année (2e cycle sec.)

    • flûte

      Pascale Margely

    • hautbois

      Susan Morris

    Maternelle à 12e année (2e cycle sec.)

    Réservez

    Vous ne pourrez vous empêcher de claquer des doigts et de taper du pied en entendant la musique enlevante du Rythmo-danse de Bel Canto! Nous vous proposons un programme emballant, allant de « Habanera » de Carmen à la « Valse des fleurs » de Casse-Noisette, en passant par une multitude d’autres pièces. Bel Canto est un groupe formé de cinq instrumentistes à vents et du percussionniste Andrew Harris. Les élèves de tous les âges apprendront comment le rythme s'intègre à la vie de tous les jours; de nos propres pulsations cardiaques à la manière dont nous parlons et nous dansons, entre autres! Chacune des prestations s’agrémente de la participation du public.

    • Langue : En français et en anglais
    • Coût après subvention:
      Une présentation de 50 minutes : 360 $ + TVH
      Deux présentations de 35 minutes : 580 $ + TVH
  6. Maternelle à 8e année (1er cycle sec.)

    Maternelle à 8e année (1er cycle sec.)

    Réservez

    Le Quintette à vent Ayorama s’amène avec toute une ménagerie! Pierre et le Loup de Prokofiev et Le Ballet des poussins dans leur coque de Moussorgski sont deux des œuvres qui donnent vie à notre zoo musical. En compagnie de Julia MacLaine dans le rôle de la narratrice, découvrez l’histoire palpitante Le tigre et l’araignée, une pièce du compositeur canadien et ancien musicien de l’Orchestre du CNA Stewart Grant, écrite spécialement pour le Quintette à vent Ayorama. Le rire occupe une place de choix à chacune des présentations de l’ensemble

    • Langue : En français et en anglais
    • Coût après subvention:
      Une présentation de 50 minutes : 360 $ + TVH
      Deux présentations de 35 minutes : 580 $ + TVH
  7. 3e année à 12e année

    • flûte

      Pascale Margely

    • hautbois

      Susan Morris

    Parcourez le monde d’antan – du XVIIe siècle à aujourd’hui – à travers une musique et une présentation visuelle captivantes. Découvrez le quotidien de gens d’ailleurs et d’autrefois dans ce voyage qui explore la Révolution française avec Beethoven, le New York des Années folles avec Gershwin, la musique de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale en Grande-Bretagne et celle du Canada d’aujourd’hui. Cette représentation couvre certains éléments des programmes pédagogiques de l'Ontario en musique, en études sociales et en histoire pour les élèves du primaire et du secondaire. 

    • Langue : En français et en anglais
    • Coût après subvention:
      Une présentation de 50 minutes : 330 $ + TVH
      Deux présentations de 35 minutes : 520 $ + TVH

Le programme Aventures musicales à mon école bénéficie d’un généreux soutien des Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA et de la Fondation du CNA.

Menu